Maple Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I made some changes, so I didn't think it would be fair to give it a lower rating. I used pure maple syrup but used vanilla extract and wheat flour instead of white, also I used 3 bananas and 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder. I was surprised at how unsweet the batter was, so I added a tablespoon of sugar and extra maple syrup. It came out okay, not bad, but not great. I would add alot more maple syrup to it next time if I were to make it again. I am wondering if the maple extract is the key to the maple "kick" it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
very bland, I was very excited to make this and was extremly diappointed the flavor was just not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I love this recipe! I used 1 tsp maple extract and added nuts to the batter. Very easy and a hit at my home and office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe was a nice template for me but based on other reviews such as it being bland and requiring too much soda, I made a few changes. I lowered the baking soda by about 1/4 tsp, I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, I added 1 c of slivered almonds to the batter (I love nuts so the pecan topping and almonds inside were great for me), and I swapped 3/4 c of wheat flour for some of the white flour to make it a little more healthy. Lastly, I baked them in muffin tins instead of a loaf pan to cut down on time. 20 mins at 350 and they were done (the recipe made 15 muffins by the way). They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This banana bread recipe is a nice change from the norm. Here in Vermont, we love maple in/on everything, so we particularly like the maple twist. I don't keep maple extract in the house, so I skipped that ingredient. Like one other reviewer, I added a tsp of vanilla and cut back on the baking soda. I have added nuts for texture, but it's good without also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Georgia, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Great texture, perfect moisture and density, but bland to taste. I also agree that you can taste the baking soda. I will experiment with spices - thank you for this promising recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Very good, and not your typical banana bread in that it was lighter than most. I made it just as directed, and then again with a few changes. It took a full 60 minutes bake time for each, and the changes in the second version I made were simple: instead making the topping as directed , I substituted maple sugar for the white sugar, and black walnuts for the english walnuts, and mixed them directly into the batter. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I don't think I made this correctly. Because it did not taste good at all. As many others recommended I substituted vanilla extract b/c I did not have maple and I used less baking soda. It was very moist but at the same time extremely bland. I will stick with my other banana bread recipe and not make this one ever again. Sorry but it was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I wish there was a way to comment about a recipe without rating it. I changed the recipe by using vanilla extract instead of maple and a little less baking soda (which was plenty), and used a commercial, non-pure maple syrup. I'd only give the result 2 stars (but I didn't want to bring down the average). Really, it was pretty bland. Next time, if I didn't have maple extract on hand, I'd use the vanilla, but also add more bananas, cinnamon and raisins. The texture's OK. It just needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I couldn't find my loaf pan so I made these into banana muffins. Fill your muffin tins (with liners) only 1/2 way, as they expand! I baked it for about 15 minutes, at the recommended temperature. I also skipped the maple extract (didn't have any on hand) and added 2 teaspoons of vanilla sugar, and cut back a wee bit on the syrup (to compensate for the added sugar). Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States