Maple Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This recipe is more subtle than I thought it would be based on other's reviews. I didn't find it overly sweet. It came out a little dry but otherwise has a good flavor esp. after toasting and buttering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very tasty, best banana bread recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahL7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was pretty good banana bread. I used a mixture of whole wheat and oat flour. I also used extra banana and eliminated the oil. I used buttermilk instead of milk and doubled it to compensate for the oil. Turned out very moist. And I really like the use of the maple, makes the bread just sweet enough. Next time I would probably use even more banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Everyone loved this Banana Bread, I also didn't have maple extract, but because I was using fresh Maple syrup from the local farm in the area, I found that was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
A great idea and it sounds delicious but...the maple flavor is very delicate and the bread is a bit bland. Couldn't really taste the maple or the bananas. What we could taste was baking soda! The recipe needs a make-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I double the maple extract to get more of a maple flavour, and add 1 tsp of cinnamon. Also usually use whole wheat flour instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This turned out great, and I liked that the main sweetner was maple syrup. I did make a couple small changes. I added 1/4 tsp. salt to the flour mixture, and I stirred in a small handful of chopped walnuts to the batter in addition to the walnut topping. And I only used 1 Tbsp. of sugar for the topping and that was plenty. Once the bread was out of the oven and cooled slightly, I took it out of the pan and wrapped it in plastic wrap. This kept the bread moist. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made this exactly according to the recipe, and it's not as great as I hoped it would be. I love the idea of the maple flavor though, so I haven't given up on it completely... I'll play around with it next time and see what I come up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodpezhunting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This really is a beautiful banana bread recipe. I modified the recipe a little by using pecan nuts instead of walnuts, since they go so nicely with the maple taste. I also used about 30ml less maple syrup and replaced the flour with commercial gluten free flour which has worked perfectlyd . My loaf tin is quite large, so I doubled the recipe that is given for 12 and it's made the perfect size loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I made the banana bread exact, only omitting the nuts. (My boys aren't fans of nutty breads like I am. For shame.) This seemed like it took FOREVER to bake. I had to place a piece of tinfoil over the top to keep it from burning. The flavor was different, but pleasant. It was easy enough to throw together with items most people have on hand. Not my favorite banana bread, but tasty all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States