Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We loved this. I did REDUCE the amount of butter to ONLY 1/4 cup, that maybe why some reviewers gave a lower rating because it was to soggy. Reduce the amount of butter & it will turn out Perfect! I also added 1/2 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t. nutmeg to topping when mixing it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe is excellent with some slight modification. I used 2 granny smith and 2 gala apples to balance the tart and sweet, poured only about 1/2 the maple syrup on top of the apples (didn't mix, it all blends when baking). I would use a little more if using all granny smith, less if using sweeter apples. For the topping, I cut the butter in half, and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. It was DIVINE served warm with vanilla ice cream. Had a subtle taste of maple without being overpoweringly sweet. Threw out my old apple crisp recipe on the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I did this recipe twice, once with just maple pancake syrup, not to bad. And once with pure maple syrup, a definite improvement. I would recommend using the pure maple syrup and half the butter. Worked out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This apple crisp is sooo delicious. The amount of butter seemed to be a little too much so i lessened the amount to 1/4 of a cup instead of a whole cup. I melted it and then added the butter to the mixture and it came out nice and crunchy when done. I love this recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
EXCELLENT! I have apprx a 30lb bag of apples from our apple tree that NEED to get used up and this is a PERFECT recipe! I used more apples so I could bake in a 9x13 dish but only 1/2c maple syrup. In addition to doubling the "crisp" part of the recipe - I also added some finely chopped walnuts and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. The maple taste is subtle but the overall taste is great! I already plan to make a second batch! Thanks Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Maple Syrup (REAL) adds such a nice taste to this old favorite. I added 1/2 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t. nutmeg to topping when mixing it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Loved this!!! I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup, and also didn't use as much maple syrup, just drizzled it over the apples. It was REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Really good and super easy. I didn't add as much maple syrup as it called for. I did had 1/2 c. of chopped walnuts and some cinnamon to the topping though. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
A great & simple recipe (easy to remember too). The maple syrup is a nice change from the standard cinnamon/nutmeg flavor of most apple crisp recipes. That said, I didn't use the suggested 3/4 cup of maple syrup. Instead I drizzled maybe 1/2 cup on the sliced apples and discarded what was left on the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This apple crisp is really delicious. I made it for a family supper and everybody loved it. The only reason i'm not giving it 5 stars is because it didn't really taste like maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States