Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We loved this. I did REDUCE the amount of butter to ONLY 1/4 cup, that maybe why some reviewers gave a lower rating because it was to soggy. Reduce the amount of butter & it will turn out Perfect! I also added 1/2 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t. nutmeg to topping when mixing it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe is excellent with some slight modification. I used 2 granny smith and 2 gala apples to balance the tart and sweet, poured only about 1/2 the maple syrup on top of the apples (didn't mix, it all blends when baking). I would use a little more if using all granny smith, less if using sweeter apples. For the topping, I cut the butter in half, and added some cinnamon and nutmeg. It was DIVINE served warm with vanilla ice cream. Had a subtle taste of maple without being overpoweringly sweet. Threw out my old apple crisp recipe on the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I did this recipe twice, once with just maple pancake syrup, not to bad. And once with pure maple syrup, a definite improvement. I would recommend using the pure maple syrup and half the butter. Worked out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
This apple crisp is sooo delicious. The amount of butter seemed to be a little too much so i lessened the amount to 1/4 of a cup instead of a whole cup. I melted it and then added the butter to the mixture and it came out nice and crunchy when done. I love this recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
EXCELLENT! I have apprx a 30lb bag of apples from our apple tree that NEED to get used up and this is a PERFECT recipe! I used more apples so I could bake in a 9x13 dish but only 1/2c maple syrup. In addition to doubling the "crisp" part of the recipe - I also added some finely chopped walnuts and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. The maple taste is subtle but the overall taste is great! I already plan to make a second batch! Thanks Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
Maple Syrup (REAL) adds such a nice taste to this old favorite. I added 1/2 t. cinnamon and 1/2 t. nutmeg to topping when mixing it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Loved this!!! I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup, and also didn't use as much maple syrup, just drizzled it over the apples. It was REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Really good and super easy. I didn't add as much maple syrup as it called for. I did had 1/2 c. of chopped walnuts and some cinnamon to the topping though. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
A great & simple recipe (easy to remember too). The maple syrup is a nice change from the standard cinnamon/nutmeg flavor of most apple crisp recipes. That said, I didn't use the suggested 3/4 cup of maple syrup. Instead I drizzled maybe 1/2 cup on the sliced apples and discarded what was left on the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This apple crisp is really delicious. I made it for a family supper and everybody loved it. The only reason i'm not giving it 5 stars is because it didn't really taste like maple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States