Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Although I haven't tried this recipe, my best apple crisp recipe uses 1/2 c butter with 3/4 c. each of flour, br. sugar, and oats, plus a pinch of salt. The topping does not taste like too much butter. It's perfectly balanced and when anyone tastes it, I'm constantly asked for the recipe. Don't forget to sprinkle cinnamon over the fruit, and I also add a bit to the topping too. CINNAMON works well with other fruits too - you can use just about any fruit or fruit combo in a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved it. Followed everyone else's advice and cut the butter down to a half a stick + 2 tbsp, and also sprinkled the top with some cinnamon. It was a tiny bit soupy, but not enough to bother any of us. I would change the serving numbers, though - even though this recipe said enough for 8 servings, we only got 6 out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yum! I was looking for a quick recipe to use up some apples and this was a winner. I reduced the amount of butter, sugar and maple syrup and added a bit of cinnamon to the topping mixture. Baked for 30 minutes. It still turned out very, very sweet, so next time I will choose a tart apple to see if that balances everything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars as it's missing cinnamon and nutmeg (2 crucial ingredients I believe). Other than that; this recipe is fantastic!!! The apple mixture is not too "mapley" if that's even a word...but it's a good way to get the sweetness into the apples w/out using tons of sugar...although I'm sure the sugar measurements are the same...the maple syrup adds a great component to this apple crisp. My "crisp" part I crumbled on (had consistency of dough when mixed) on top of the apple/syrup mixture and I used a bit more apples than suggested but they were small apples...I tripled this recipe knowing it would go quickly! I also added in a bit more oatmeal than called for as I like the consistency of them in a crisp. The apples cooked perfectly and the syrup did not over power this recipe. I will definitely be using again! Make sure to add in some cinnamon and nutmeg for the spice to this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My family loves this. I use 8 apples and bake it in a 9x13 pan. I use 3/4 cup each of the brown sugar, oats and flour and only 1/4 cup of butter (to reduce fat). I cook it about 45 minutes to brown the top. Don't have any problem with it being soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Awesome. Everyone loved it. I would add a touch of cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Super easy and yummy... I sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia cha cha chia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The taste was delicious...I think next time I will double the topping recipe. Then put half on the bottom and the rest on the top. I'm hoping it absorbs some the the liquid. The ingredients are spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States