Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I have made this many times. My son just came out of the kitchen after eating half a pan of a double batch. "It was so good; I just couldn't stop. My brain told me to stop but my taste buds overrode my brain." Friends ask me to make this frequently. I use a little less maple syrup with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was the perfect way to use up some apples! I did add just a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping, and cut down on the butter like other reviewers suggested! I would def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was excellent. I cut the maple in half as others suggested and melted the butter before adding it. I also added about a 2 tablespoons of maple syrup to the crumb topping and I also doubled the topping and made it in a 9" X 13" pan. I used very small apples that my kids and I got apple picking so the amount of apples may not have been the same I covered the bottom of the pan with one layer. Needless to say for my first ever homemade apple crisp this was awesome. Everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this was good but not my favorite. thank you for a great idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was yummy and yummy both hot over ice cream and cold in a cup. It helped me get rid of some apples that were rotting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Easy and the maple syrup is a nice change. I will definately make this again. It went too quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
QUITE TASTEY EVEN THOUGH I FORGOT TO PUT IN THE 1/2 CUP OF BROWN SUGAR. I MUST MAKE IT AGAIN AND PUT THE SUGAR IN. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Although I haven't tried this recipe, my best apple crisp recipe uses 1/2 c butter with 3/4 c. each of flour, br. sugar, and oats, plus a pinch of salt. The topping does not taste like too much butter. It's perfectly balanced and when anyone tastes it, I'm constantly asked for the recipe. Don't forget to sprinkle cinnamon over the fruit, and I also add a bit to the topping too. CINNAMON works well with other fruits too - you can use just about any fruit or fruit combo in a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Loved it. Followed everyone else's advice and cut the butter down to a half a stick + 2 tbsp, and also sprinkled the top with some cinnamon. It was a tiny bit soupy, but not enough to bother any of us. I would change the serving numbers, though - even though this recipe said enough for 8 servings, we only got 6 out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Yum! I was looking for a quick recipe to use up some apples and this was a winner. I reduced the amount of butter, sugar and maple syrup and added a bit of cinnamon to the topping mixture. Baked for 30 minutes. It still turned out very, very sweet, so next time I will choose a tart apple to see if that balances everything out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States