Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
What a wonderful combination of apple and maple flavors!! I used Gala apples and should have cut the brown sugar back a little as it was too sweet. I followed the advice of other reviewers to reduce the butter to 1/4 cup and I'd recommend that as well since it still has a buttery taste with less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This turned out very good! I had gala apples I needed to use that weren't the sweetest to begin with, so I doubted this recipe would turn out. I thought there was too much syrup once I put it with the apples so I added some brown sugar and a little of the crubmle to the mix (I also used light pancake syrup not the real-deal, maple syrp). Also threw in some cinnamon and splenda on top before adding the crumble topping. For the crumble I added wheat germ, ground flax seed and subed 1/4 a cup of whole wheat flour to 1/4 of enriched. I think if I make this again I'll put less syrup or add a little cornstarch to thicken it a bit. Or maybe splurge on real maple syrup! I think it would be really good with some nuts sprinkled on top too. Maybe dried cranberries or a little something else mixed in as well. Overall really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoHe423

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I use Sugar Free Maple Syrup to save on calories.. delicious!!! I have made this at least 10 times in the last 2 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This turned out soggy, way too tart & zero maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I used the same amount of maple syrup, eyeballed the dry ingredients, and cut in the butter while still cold, didn't have time to soften it. I was in a rush so I just added a splash of water to get things together. It came out soooo unbelievably delicious! Apples were beautifully caramelized (I used golden delicious apples). Possibly the easiest, fastest most delicious apple crisp ever!! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I cut the maple syrup to 1/2 cup and the butter to 1/4 cup. However, there was alot of liquid on the bottom of the pan. I used Fuji apples and I know they are not baking apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My family really enjoyed this. I might use a little less syrup next time as it was just a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
So, so good. As a Vermonter I love this combination of maple and apple. Fast, easy, and amazingly tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The best apple crisp I have ever eaten! I double the recipe and we have it eaten in a couple days! We eat is warm with vanilla ice cream on top its to die for, I cant say enough about how delicious and easy this is! I am asked to bring it to all family functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe; I make this with the addition of 1 cup of cranberries along with sweet apples - everyone loves it! I also add the cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States