Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
LOVE this recipe! My wife and I use it when we need something quick/easy that everyone will love. We also cut the butter down to at least a quarter cup and use only about 1/3 - 1/2 cup maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Delicious! The more tart the apples, the better, or it can be overwhelming sweet. Like every one else, I halved the butter and it turned out perfect. Also, about 5 minutes before it's done, I stir the oat mixture in with the apples to moisten it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this recipe today following the suggestions of some of the other reviewers to reduce the butter and maple syrup by a tad. It turned out great. I took it to a pot luck brunch today and served it with real whipped cream. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. It's all gone!! Boo hoo! Guess I'll have to make it again. I only got one serving. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was such a quick and easy recipe. There are only two of us, so I used three apples (plus, that's all we had). For the topping, I used 6T of butter and 1/4c brown sugar, and added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of nutmeg. I also used sugar free maple syrup. I'm sure the full sugar/fat version is also full of a lot more flavour, but even with these alterations it's very good. Not too sweet or rich, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lurel White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Warm tasty dessert for a cold night. I reduced the butter by half, and added slightly less than 3/4 cup pure maple syrup. It was still very runny, I often have that problem with apple desserts - maybe my apples are too juicy? Next time, I will add some off the topping in between layers of the apples to absorb some of the liquid. I did add spices to taste (cinnamon, nutmeg) as I'm not one of the 'recipe purists', and enjoy tweaking recipes to suit my tastes. Excellent, easy way to use extra apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
It's just like grandma use to make. The family enjoyed every bit of the crisp!!! Used 1/2 cup of maple syurp, added cinn. and nutmeg. Used 9 apples,insted of 5. Will use this one again!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
What a wonderful combination of apple and maple flavors!! I used Gala apples and should have cut the brown sugar back a little as it was too sweet. I followed the advice of other reviewers to reduce the butter to 1/4 cup and I'd recommend that as well since it still has a buttery taste with less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This turned out very good! I had gala apples I needed to use that weren't the sweetest to begin with, so I doubted this recipe would turn out. I thought there was too much syrup once I put it with the apples so I added some brown sugar and a little of the crubmle to the mix (I also used light pancake syrup not the real-deal, maple syrp). Also threw in some cinnamon and splenda on top before adding the crumble topping. For the crumble I added wheat germ, ground flax seed and subed 1/4 a cup of whole wheat flour to 1/4 of enriched. I think if I make this again I'll put less syrup or add a little cornstarch to thicken it a bit. Or maybe splurge on real maple syrup! I think it would be really good with some nuts sprinkled on top too. Maybe dried cranberries or a little something else mixed in as well. Overall really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoHe423

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I use Sugar Free Maple Syrup to save on calories.. delicious!!! I have made this at least 10 times in the last 2 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This turned out soggy, way too tart & zero maple flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States