Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Maple syrup makes this recipe expensive but does little to add to the flavor. Topping only okay. Family agreed that they like other apple crisp recipes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Wonderful! We added more crisp, less butter and less maple syrup per our tastes and it came out delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I think this is a very great basic recipe! I made just a couple simple modifications and it was truly fantastic. I know I like a generous amount of "crisp" topping, so i used 3/4 cup each of the flour, oats and brown sugar. I also added 1 tsp baking powder to the flour. I kept the butter at 1/2 cup. I sprinkled the apples with about a tbsp of corn starch, then tossed them with the maple syrup. Helped to thicken all the juices a little I think. I then sprinkled a tbsp or so of cinnamon over the apples before pressing the oat topping lightly over the apples. yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
A favorite recipe... have made this at least 50 times now. Thanks again for such a delicious version of this classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
So delicious! I have made this multiple times, and have never had a bad review! Delicious as is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love this stuff! Ever since I saw this recipe I use the basic ingredients to make apple crisp. I only gave it a 4-star rating because as-is I think the recipe calls for too much sugar (especially maple) and too much butter. I don't measure anything, but I cut up the apples (sometimes I peel them too) then drizzle some maple syrup over them (sometimes I add some cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples). Then I mix roughly equal amounts of oats, flour (wheat), and brown sugar (a little less) with a bit of salt. Then I add enough butter and oil to dampen the topping. Spread over apples and bake until the top starts to brown. I can't eat it without ice cream... DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Breckenridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Great. I didn't have good apples though. I replaced the oats with Special K strawberry cereal, works in place of oats and tastes good. If I make this recipe again I'd make it with Special K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious recipe and easy to make. The maple syrup added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Absolutely amazing! Mine didn't turn out very crispy, but I blame me and not the recipe. Still tastes awesome regardless. This is a new favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was a great hit - and easy, too! Like some other reviewers, I cut down on the butter with great results. However, it was a little too sweet, even after cutting back a bit on the maple syrup. Other than that, it would be a 5-star; still, this is a great keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States