Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Easy & delicious! The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter. The 2nd time I only used 1/2 cup of maple syrup & 1/4 cup of butter & it was still delicious. My daughter said it tasted better warm but I served it room temperature & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I thought the maple flavor would be a nice complement to the apples but the syrup just added to the juice the apples let off and made a soupy mess in the bottom of the casserole dish. This was ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe! I personally substitute the regular rolled oats with quaker's maple and brown sugar flavoured oatmeal. Very good with any apple crisp recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is my go-to recipe for apple crisp. When apple season come here in Upstate NY my husband and I pick about 40lbs. Most gets made into apple sauce to be canned for the winter, but most of the rest is made into this delicious dish! I measure nothing except for the topping. I do use less butter than it calls for and omit the salt because I can't notice the difference. I just drizzle the maple syrup over the sliced apples once they are arranged in the dish. And I use nothing but grade B syrup (none of that phone pole syrup). If anyone cares for crisp, they will love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayflour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
HEAVENLY!!! The only change I made was to double the topping because it is that good. It was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. Definitely a keeper. I used granny smiths by the way. I will be making this regularly as it's so easy to make and the results are wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My boyfriend hates desserts and he loved this one! It was a huge hit and you could always toast the apple skins for a snack afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was quite a tasty recipe, but I didn't get much of a maple flavor out of it. I will definitely make it again, but maybe add a tsp or two of maple extract on top of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! Very easy to make too! I only made 2 changes. I used 4 large apples and added a little cinnamon to the topping. Topped it off with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather in KY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent apple crisp!! The only change I made was to decrease the amount of maple syrup to 2/3c and next time I would decrease a little more as I found it quite runny. The taste was excellent and everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I love this recipe, but instead of halving the butter as other people have suggested, I doubled the rolled oats. It made more topping, which I prefer. There is no need to add extra sugar or anything to the oats because the syrup is already sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States