Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit, I used pure maple syrup and it was great, I also used all gala apples because I love sweetness, I did make this the week before and one step I messed up on was soften the butter I ended up melting it that's a no no
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this recipe was good with a few of the changes suggested by reviewers. I used a mixture of gala and granny smith apples. I doubled the crumbled but DID NOT double the butter. I used a little bit of lemon juice and added cinnamon and nutmeg. I did not have pure maple syrup so I used a light maple syrup which didn't really give much maple flavor. I have since then bought PURE maple syrup and will have to try this again--maybe this time adding some cranberries to the mix. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is a favourite in our house. It's so easy to do, and aside from being absolutely delicious, it makes the house smell wonderful! I've never tried with cinnamon, but will try to remember to take that suggestion from all the other commenters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherFG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Excellent! Like many others, I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen & David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Really, really good! I added chopped walnuts to the topping and halved the butter as others mentioned. Oh and I used real maple syrup and a few drops of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My children really loved this recipe. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
SO EASY!! I did it in an afternoon with Jonathan apples, which are kind of tart. I did lessen the butter. This is SO GOOD. I'm gonna make this all the time. A quick and easy recipe that makes it so easy to have a delightful home cooked dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yes, very good. I did add a half tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg to the filling and one melted tbsp of butter to cut the sweetness and thickness of the syrup. I used granny smith apples for this crisp, I like the tartness of the apples against the sweetness of the topping. (I used half real maple syrup and half homemade.) I did add another 1/4 cup each of flour and oats to the topping mixture only because it was quite a bit more clumpy than it should have been. I thought about adding more, but I'm really glad I didn't. That looked super buttery and a little too thick for a crisp but it turned out just right. VERY good and a nice change from your basic crisp. I served it with vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was SO easy & SO good! I was a little worried it was going to be watery because I was using thawed apples from our freezer, but I measured out 2 1/2 c. (about 5 apples), and it turned out fine! Cook time ended up being about 45 min. My husband loved it topped with vanilla ice cream & sprinkled with cinnamon sugar! YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States