Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
"Everyone" LOVED this served it at a party. made 2 huge batches and it was all gone you gotta try this it's easy to make and the taste is excellent... gave 14 women the recipe. thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
There's just something about putting apple and maple together - mmmm! I made it with a 1 1/2x the crumble to make sure the apples were all covered. I also greased the pan lightly with butter. It IS a bit more "liquidy" than some crisps but the flavor is excellent (and I eat it with a spoon so I don't miss out on any of the maple/apple juice.) The flavors/textures do blend and it does get better the next day if it lasts. Very easy to make. A little vanilla ice cream on the top of the warm crisp makes it even more perfect. Thank you. Fall, 2010 - I make this regularly now because everyone likes. Have found that using several different varieties of apples makes this more interesting. I slice each one separately and then do a layer of each kind. I've been using some cinnamon as well. About 2/3 through the baking I take a fork and lightly pierce through the topping so a little of it gets mixed into the apples/juice; that way the topping doesn't dry out nor is the bottom too liquidy. Happy Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I reduced the butter as per others suggestion. This is an excellent and quick desert. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great taste the syrup made it a little soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good! My only complaint would be that the topping is never enough, so I needed to double it both times I made it. I recommend switching the oven from bake to broil for the last 5 minutes or so to get a really crunchy topping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I followed several other reader's recommendations, and used slightly more than half of the butter the recipe called for. After I cut it in, mixed all the dry ingredients together, and dumped over the apples, I found that I still had loose flour in the mix. I drizzled a little melted butter over the top to make sure it was all covered. The final result was a layer of maple syrup at the bottom, not-quite-cooked apples in the middle, and not-crispy oatmeal mush at the top. It was tasty, but not what I was shooting for with apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Sooo Yummy!!! I doubled the recipe and it was delicious for many people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
very very tasty...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Wonderful - I've made this many times now, with a few modifications. I always use real Maple Syrup but I cut it down to about 1/4 cup. I also double the topping but keep the 1/2 cup of brown sugar the same - otherwise I find it wicked sweet. And I sprinkle in some cinnamon and nutmeg into the topping. It's heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Perfect VT dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States