Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I think that maple syrup is totally the way to go when making a fruit crisp. I'm trying to cut back my consumption of pure sugar, and maple syrup is a great option. Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very good and easy to make. You can substitute the apples for pears to mix things up. Also very cost effective recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I had severe reservations about this recipe going in, but all the positive reviews lulled my instinctive reaction. Unfortunately, instinct was correct. Adding maple syrup to apple crisp - outstanding idea. Subjecting the syrup to prolonged high temperatures . . . not so. Maple products lose their flavor at high temperatures, which is why it takes so long to make the syrup - the boil must be controlled in the low 200 degree region. Made as posted, there was barely a hint of maple flavor. I made it a second time (see custom recipe) and it was much better. When cooking with genuine maple syrup, low and slow is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this in a 9x13 pan with 5 granny smith apples, 4 times the topping (but only 2 sticks of butter). I added nutmeg and cinnamon to the topping and walnuts on top of it all. The nuts burned some, so next time I wont add those until toward the end of cooking. It cooked for almost an hour and came out great. Served with vanilla ice cream/whipped cream. Giving 4 stars because I don't think there is enough topping as written and I think you need to add some spices, but a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
"Everyone" LOVED this served it at a party. made 2 huge batches and it was all gone you gotta try this it's easy to make and the taste is excellent... gave 14 women the recipe. thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
There's just something about putting apple and maple together - mmmm! I made it with a 1 1/2x the crumble to make sure the apples were all covered. I also greased the pan lightly with butter. It IS a bit more "liquidy" than some crisps but the flavor is excellent (and I eat it with a spoon so I don't miss out on any of the maple/apple juice.) The flavors/textures do blend and it does get better the next day if it lasts. Very easy to make. A little vanilla ice cream on the top of the warm crisp makes it even more perfect. Thank you. Fall, 2010 - I make this regularly now because everyone likes. Have found that using several different varieties of apples makes this more interesting. I slice each one separately and then do a layer of each kind. I've been using some cinnamon as well. About 2/3 through the baking I take a fork and lightly pierce through the topping so a little of it gets mixed into the apples/juice; that way the topping doesn't dry out nor is the bottom too liquidy. Happy Fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I reduced the butter as per others suggestion. This is an excellent and quick desert. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Great taste the syrup made it a little soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good! My only complaint would be that the topping is never enough, so I needed to double it both times I made it. I recommend switching the oven from bake to broil for the last 5 minutes or so to get a really crunchy topping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States