Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So yummy. This was easy and delicious! I will be making this again and again. My 3 year old loved it. I just changed one thing. I used 1 tablesppon lemon juice first on the apples and then layered them in the dish and then topped with syrup then the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by chieftainmomma
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
It was wonderfully delicious. I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose, since it was all I had on-hand. It definitely didn't hurt the recipe at all. I also followed the recommendations and reduced the butter by half. All and all, it tastes fantastic but there ended up being a large amount of liquid when it was done cooking. It tasted like apple cider, but I was pretty sure that wasn't supposed to happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chieftainmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I give this 5 stars for flavour and ease of preparation. My topping was still floury after 35 minutes and the points were starting to burn. I have a convection oven so maybe I set the temp too high and thus couldn't cook the topping long enough to become crispy. Lovely flavour though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Excellent Apple Crisp recipe. My husband loved the crisp (and he's picky on his crisps (not that he won't eat anything ;))) I added more apples because mine were small, and a touch less butter. In future, I'm going to try 1/4 cup of butter. I found the crisp more tea biscuit like and less crispy as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Deprived Gluten free folk -rejoice! I left out the flour, increased the oats, and triumph! All the good things about apple pie, with none of the hassle of rolling out a crust. (Or, in my poor guy's case, the discomfort associated with wheat products) I added spices to the filling and the oat/butter mixture, and served it hot a la mode, and it was just devine. I don't know why nobody told me about wonderful crisps and crumbles sooner! Thank you for this simple, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemondrop
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
easy to make & tasty with some whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Sledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The best apple crisp I ever made. I only had 5 small apples so I added a pear. Also, I sprinkled the topping with cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
this was by far the best apple crisp I've ever tasted! My husband loved the subtle maple flavour to it, and we had it with maple walnut ice cream. This is going in my permanent recipe book for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Took the advice of others and cut the butter by 1/4 cup worked out well. It was a bit too sweet for us so I will cut down on the brown sugar next time. I added pecans, raisins and cinnamon also. Very good recipe I really liked the Maple Syrup with the crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have made this a few times, very good each time. Maple ysrup adds a nice flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States