Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
It's a nice idea, but with the recipe as is, it's too wet. I cut back on the butter as other reviewers suggested, and will also cut back on the maple syrup in the future. I am curious if the extra moisture can be resolved by adding corn starch to the apples. I love the maple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megs
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Loved this recipe and so did the whole family. We used our families dark maple syrup (nice having your own trees to tap) and added pecans to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This recipe should not be called a "crisp". It was soggy and more like a soup. The apples in the center did not cook properly and there was a ton of syrup at the bottom. I thought that once everything cooled, the syrup might just soak in, but I was wrong. I will drain the juices out, eat what's left and then never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe says, except I had a big can of fuji apples and used it instead of fresh apples. The girls at work loved it! They even went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Wow! Soooo yummy!!! I love Fall and the foods associated w/ the season. This recipe captures the essence of both. I needed a dessert to serve w/ dinner 2nite (my fiance & I invited my parents over). Even tho my fiance opted for ice cream for dessert (he is not a fruit fan), my parents & I polished off all but 1 serving of this (w/ a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top)! I pretty much followed Crystal's directions to a T except for adding a t cinnamon / 1/2 t nutmeg to my crumb mix. You can use any baking apple you choose (just be sure it's suited for baking...). I used 3 Granny Smith / 2 Golden Delicious apples (the latter were lg., so I used fewer of them). NOTE: You MUST use PURE maple syrup! Imitation pancake syrup is NOT the same thing!!! SECOND NOTE: I was hesitatnt about using a full 1/2 c. of butter since many reviewers suggested using 1/2 this amount. I noticed that my oat mixture wasn't as crumbly as I hoped w/ only 1/4 c. of butter, so I used the full 1/2 c. called for.. TIP: It helps to cut COLD butter into sm. pats & then incorporate w/ a pastry blender (DO NOT melt your butter!). I am VERY glad I did this. My crisp turned out perfect! My only changes for next time will be to a) decrease the amount of apples to 3-4 total, depending on sze. (my baking dish was FULL, and I think this is why some of my apples didn't cook thru to my liking...) & b) reduce the amount of syrup (there was waaay too much of it). Thanks for sharing, Crystal! :-) This is a winner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
So simple and so tasty. I used real butter and real maple syrup. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
By far one of the easiest and BEST apple crisp recipes I have ever made! The nice thing about this crisp is the Maple flavor. I used 6 apples, about 1 cup of Oats and 1/4 cup butter. I used 1-2 T of cinn to the flour mixture. I used white sugar instead of brown sugar b/c this is all I had on hand. This crisp came hot out of the over right as the bus came home, My five year old loved it. My 2 year old asked for more and my husband said to me..stop being supermom this is delish. Little did he know this was SO simple to make. I topped the crisp with store bought whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed recipe except for the addition of 2 cups of blueberry and extra apples I wanted used up. Doubled the topping. When warm there was a lot of liquid from syrup and apple juice but this thickened up someone when cold. I served this with Cereal Cream. The raves of guests were unbelievable, best Apple Crisp ever. Thanks. I'll be making this again in a few days to use up the bags of sliced apples on hand. I can't control myself I have it breakfast, lunch and supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
So yummy. This was easy and delicious! I will be making this again and again. My 3 year old loved it. I just changed one thing. I used 1 tablesppon lemon juice first on the apples and then layered them in the dish and then topped with syrup then the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcardullo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by chieftainmomma
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
It was wonderfully delicious. I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose, since it was all I had on-hand. It definitely didn't hurt the recipe at all. I also followed the recommendations and reduced the butter by half. All and all, it tastes fantastic but there ended up being a large amount of liquid when it was done cooking. It tasted like apple cider, but I was pretty sure that wasn't supposed to happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chieftainmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States