Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious recipe and easy to make. The maple syrup added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Absolutely amazing! Mine didn't turn out very crispy, but I blame me and not the recipe. Still tastes awesome regardless. This is a new favorite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was a great hit - and easy, too! Like some other reviewers, I cut down on the butter with great results. However, it was a little too sweet, even after cutting back a bit on the maple syrup. Other than that, it would be a 5-star; still, this is a great keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
A big hit and very quick to make for the whole family with short notice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
LOVE this recipe! My wife and I use it when we need something quick/easy that everyone will love. We also cut the butter down to at least a quarter cup and use only about 1/3 - 1/2 cup maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Delicious! The more tart the apples, the better, or it can be overwhelming sweet. Like every one else, I halved the butter and it turned out perfect. Also, about 5 minutes before it's done, I stir the oat mixture in with the apples to moisten it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this recipe today following the suggestions of some of the other reviewers to reduce the butter and maple syrup by a tad. It turned out great. I took it to a pot luck brunch today and served it with real whipped cream. Everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. It's all gone!! Boo hoo! Guess I'll have to make it again. I only got one serving. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was such a quick and easy recipe. There are only two of us, so I used three apples (plus, that's all we had). For the topping, I used 6T of butter and 1/4c brown sugar, and added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of nutmeg. I also used sugar free maple syrup. I'm sure the full sugar/fat version is also full of a lot more flavour, but even with these alterations it's very good. Not too sweet or rich, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lurel White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Warm tasty dessert for a cold night. I reduced the butter by half, and added slightly less than 3/4 cup pure maple syrup. It was still very runny, I often have that problem with apple desserts - maybe my apples are too juicy? Next time, I will add some off the topping in between layers of the apples to absorb some of the liquid. I did add spices to taste (cinnamon, nutmeg) as I'm not one of the 'recipe purists', and enjoy tweaking recipes to suit my tastes. Excellent, easy way to use extra apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States