Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Tried this last night and it was great! The maple syrup gives plain old apple crisp an interesting change. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have done this recipe twice now and it is delicious. It is a bit sweeter then I like but found if I cut back on the Maple syrup it is better. I like to use tart apples as well as this helps tone down the sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I thought this was great, loved the addition of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing. I followed some of the reviewers suggestions and I doubled the flour and oatmeal, only used 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1/3 cup of maple syrup. I also added a splash of vanilla to the apple/syrup mixture. It took about 45 minutes to bake with the added ingredients. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love apple crisp, and wanted to try a few new recipes. I wasn't sure about about maple syrup, but it turned out great! What a perfect fall dessert with vanilla ice cream and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used ground almonds and walnuts instead of oats (didn't have any). For this reason my topping didn't get very crunchy but it was still delicious. The maple syrup was a nice addition. This was sinfully good with vanilla ice cream! I would certainly make this again and make it a point to have oats on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Absolutely amazing! The Maple flavor is what makes this perfect! I'd recommend cooking it a little longer for the topping to be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was a simple and nice apple dessert (tastes great with vanilla ice cream!). My only problem was the cooking time. I cooked it for 40 minutes, but I think next time I'll put it in for more like 50-60 minutes. My apples weren't very soft and my "crisp" not very cooked after 35 minutes (disclaimer: i'm at altitude--cooking is weird here). I thought 1/2 cup (instead of the 3/4 cup) of real maple syrup was a perfect amount, but I regret having cut the butter down to 1/4 cup as was recommended by so many reviewers. Next time I'll stick with the 1/2 cup (it wasn't bad with 1/4, but I think the crisp would have a nicer texture and taste with the full amount). I also dropped a little cinnamon into the crisp, which I thought was a nice addition. I used gala apples and those worked fine--next time I might mix fuji and granny smiths and see how that tastes. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
best apple crisp ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Truly delicious with the maple syrup twist. I made these as individual servings and added a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Great for a fall dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States