Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing. I followed some of the reviewers suggestions and I doubled the flour and oatmeal, only used 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1/3 cup of maple syrup. I also added a splash of vanilla to the apple/syrup mixture. It took about 45 minutes to bake with the added ingredients. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love apple crisp, and wanted to try a few new recipes. I wasn't sure about about maple syrup, but it turned out great! What a perfect fall dessert with vanilla ice cream and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used ground almonds and walnuts instead of oats (didn't have any). For this reason my topping didn't get very crunchy but it was still delicious. The maple syrup was a nice addition. This was sinfully good with vanilla ice cream! I would certainly make this again and make it a point to have oats on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Absolutely amazing! The Maple flavor is what makes this perfect! I'd recommend cooking it a little longer for the topping to be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was a simple and nice apple dessert (tastes great with vanilla ice cream!). My only problem was the cooking time. I cooked it for 40 minutes, but I think next time I'll put it in for more like 50-60 minutes. My apples weren't very soft and my "crisp" not very cooked after 35 minutes (disclaimer: i'm at altitude--cooking is weird here). I thought 1/2 cup (instead of the 3/4 cup) of real maple syrup was a perfect amount, but I regret having cut the butter down to 1/4 cup as was recommended by so many reviewers. Next time I'll stick with the 1/2 cup (it wasn't bad with 1/4, but I think the crisp would have a nicer texture and taste with the full amount). I also dropped a little cinnamon into the crisp, which I thought was a nice addition. I used gala apples and those worked fine--next time I might mix fuji and granny smiths and see how that tastes. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
best apple crisp ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Truly delicious with the maple syrup twist. I made these as individual servings and added a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Great for a fall dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delish! When I first made this it came out real runny, still tasty, but I prefer a thick apple crisp. So after I chop up my apples, I always use granny smith, I toss them in cornstarch before putting the maple syrup & topping on. It really helps to soak up the juices and give it a thicker texture. Another twist to this recipe I sometimes do is add 2 cups of fresh blueberries with only 3 apples and it is just as delish if not better!! I call it Maple Appleberry Crisp!! Just made one tonight, hubby's been begging me ever since our local farm started putting out the fresh picked blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Easy & delicious! The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter. The 2nd time I only used 1/2 cup of maple syrup & 1/4 cup of butter & it was still delicious. My daughter said it tasted better warm but I served it room temperature & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I thought the maple flavor would be a nice complement to the apples but the syrup just added to the juice the apples let off and made a soupy mess in the bottom of the casserole dish. This was ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States