Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing. I followed some of the reviewers suggestions and I doubled the flour and oatmeal, only used 1/4 cup of butter, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and 1/3 cup of maple syrup. I also added a splash of vanilla to the apple/syrup mixture. It took about 45 minutes to bake with the added ingredients. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love apple crisp, and wanted to try a few new recipes. I wasn't sure about about maple syrup, but it turned out great! What a perfect fall dessert with vanilla ice cream and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used ground almonds and walnuts instead of oats (didn't have any). For this reason my topping didn't get very crunchy but it was still delicious. The maple syrup was a nice addition. This was sinfully good with vanilla ice cream! I would certainly make this again and make it a point to have oats on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Absolutely amazing! The Maple flavor is what makes this perfect! I'd recommend cooking it a little longer for the topping to be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was a simple and nice apple dessert (tastes great with vanilla ice cream!). My only problem was the cooking time. I cooked it for 40 minutes, but I think next time I'll put it in for more like 50-60 minutes. My apples weren't very soft and my "crisp" not very cooked after 35 minutes (disclaimer: i'm at altitude--cooking is weird here). I thought 1/2 cup (instead of the 3/4 cup) of real maple syrup was a perfect amount, but I regret having cut the butter down to 1/4 cup as was recommended by so many reviewers. Next time I'll stick with the 1/2 cup (it wasn't bad with 1/4, but I think the crisp would have a nicer texture and taste with the full amount). I also dropped a little cinnamon into the crisp, which I thought was a nice addition. I used gala apples and those worked fine--next time I might mix fuji and granny smiths and see how that tastes. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
best apple crisp ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Truly delicious with the maple syrup twist. I made these as individual servings and added a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Great for a fall dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delish! When I first made this it came out real runny, still tasty, but I prefer a thick apple crisp. So after I chop up my apples, I always use granny smith, I toss them in cornstarch before putting the maple syrup & topping on. It really helps to soak up the juices and give it a thicker texture. Another twist to this recipe I sometimes do is add 2 cups of fresh blueberries with only 3 apples and it is just as delish if not better!! I call it Maple Appleberry Crisp!! Just made one tonight, hubby's been begging me ever since our local farm started putting out the fresh picked blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Easy & delicious! The 1st time I made it I followed the recipe to the letter. The 2nd time I only used 1/2 cup of maple syrup & 1/4 cup of butter & it was still delicious. My daughter said it tasted better warm but I served it room temperature & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I thought the maple flavor would be a nice complement to the apples but the syrup just added to the juice the apples let off and made a soupy mess in the bottom of the casserole dish. This was ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States