Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I followed several other reader's recommendations, and used slightly more than half of the butter the recipe called for. After I cut it in, mixed all the dry ingredients together, and dumped over the apples, I found that I still had loose flour in the mix. I drizzled a little melted butter over the top to make sure it was all covered. The final result was a layer of maple syrup at the bottom, not-quite-cooked apples in the middle, and not-crispy oatmeal mush at the top. It was tasty, but not what I was shooting for with apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Sooo Yummy!!! I doubled the recipe and it was delicious for many people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
very very tasty...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Wonderful - I've made this many times now, with a few modifications. I always use real Maple Syrup but I cut it down to about 1/4 cup. I also double the topping but keep the 1/2 cup of brown sugar the same - otherwise I find it wicked sweet. And I sprinkle in some cinnamon and nutmeg into the topping. It's heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Perfect VT dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Crazy easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I even used sugar-free maple syrup & it was still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaSommerville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Probably one of the very best apple crisps ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this for our Thanksgiving dessert and served with vanilla icecream....so easy to make and yet sooo delicious!!! I agree that it is too sweet with the recommended syrup/brown sugar amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Really like the flavor. Mine came out a bit soupy, but it was probably just the apples I chose to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States