Maple Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
this was by far the best apple crisp I've ever tasted! My husband loved the subtle maple flavour to it, and we had it with maple walnut ice cream. This is going in my permanent recipe book for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Took the advice of others and cut the butter by 1/4 cup worked out well. It was a bit too sweet for us so I will cut down on the brown sugar next time. I added pecans, raisins and cinnamon also. Very good recipe I really liked the Maple Syrup with the crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have made this a few times, very good each time. Maple ysrup adds a nice flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Made this last night, my hubby loved it. The only thing he would like is more topping:) So next time I'll double the topping mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I loved this recipes. The maple syrup was the peferct addition to the apples. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I think that maple syrup is totally the way to go when making a fruit crisp. I'm trying to cut back my consumption of pure sugar, and maple syrup is a great option. Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Very good and easy to make. You can substitute the apples for pears to mix things up. Also very cost effective recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I had severe reservations about this recipe going in, but all the positive reviews lulled my instinctive reaction. Unfortunately, instinct was correct. Adding maple syrup to apple crisp - outstanding idea. Subjecting the syrup to prolonged high temperatures . . . not so. Maple products lose their flavor at high temperatures, which is why it takes so long to make the syrup - the boil must be controlled in the low 200 degree region. Made as posted, there was barely a hint of maple flavor. I made it a second time (see custom recipe) and it was much better. When cooking with genuine maple syrup, low and slow is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Made this in a 9x13 pan with 5 granny smith apples, 4 times the topping (but only 2 sticks of butter). I added nutmeg and cinnamon to the topping and walnuts on top of it all. The nuts burned some, so next time I wont add those until toward the end of cooking. It cooked for almost an hour and came out great. Served with vanilla ice cream/whipped cream. Giving 4 stars because I don't think there is enough topping as written and I think you need to add some spices, but a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
very tasty and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States