Maple and Ginger Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
If there were 6 stars it would have my vote!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was a hit! I used a 1/2 of bacon instead of the salted pork. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 10 hrs and took the lid off the last hr. No problems with the beans having too much liquid. I am moaking again this weekend for another bday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I used the bean from a 15 bean soup mix I had on hand as well as a ham bone from a ham I had baked. I added a can of diced tomatoes as we like those in our beans. It turned out perfect and my kids couldn't get enough of this! Next time I'm making sure to serve it up with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
After reading the reviews I was a little leary to try this recipe. I will have to say that I am very glad I did. There were a few subtle things that I changed only because of previous experience with cooking beans. The first was I added an extra cup of water so that the beans were nearly covered with the liquid mixture. I also added 1/4 cup more of brown sugar to help off set the extra water. I used the syrup I had on hand and it did not come out too sweet. I cooked the beans on high in the slow cooker for 5 1/2 hrs. and the beans soaked up most of the liquid so that it was not watery like previously stated. This recipe was a big hit with the family and we will be enjoying this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TINAFARRENKOPF
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Just a comment on this recipe I submitted. Wow, haven't looked at this site in awhile... anyhow, in defense of this recipe... this is a variation of the more traditional New England baked bean dish (made with just brown sugar and/or molasses with ground mustard) and it is meant to be "subtle". Bland and slightly sweet actually with a hint of ginger zippiness. It is not like the baked bean dishes from the American West and South which are much spicier and zesty (which I also love, been looking for a good bbq/ranch style/southwestern type of bean recipe to try). Ketchup and other spices, as some reviewers suggested and added, seem almost sacrilegious. LOL As for the amount of water you add to the beans, the recipe as I originally submitted stated that it had to be monitored and adjusted accordingly. Different altitudes (I'm in Colorado) and crockpots will require some tweaking. Also, I always stir the beans a few times in the last few hours, which crushes a few beans and thickens up the dish overall. If there is too much water, I remove some. Cooking is an art, not a precise science... tweak as you go... adding more of "this" next time and less of "that"... which is why there are so many recipes for the "same dishes" out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I had to try these after reading the creator's review - her approach to cooking sounded like mine. The only modification I made was to use heaping teaspoons of ginger and mustard (it's a habit), and they're fabulous. Precooked, and then into the crock pot on low for 11.5 hours . . . they're for dinner tomorrow, and I'm so excited to taste how the flavors meld after setting for a day. Thanks for my new baked beans recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I use a half pound of bacon diced and fried in place of the salt pork. I sometimes use all molasses instead of the maple syrup. No matter how you make this one it is a keeper and tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My significant other wanted to try to make home made baked beans, so I found this recipe and gave it to him to make while I was gone for the day. I came home, the house smelled wonderful, and the beans were great. He used 1/2 pkg of smoked bacon cuz that's what we had. Used good quality pure maple syrup, and he didn't change a thing. Cooked for 11 hours on low, then 1/2 hour on high with the lid removed. Yum! Thank you for submitting this recipe! LoL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is terrific - if you don't want to to deal with dry beans (or forgot to soak them overnight like I did) you can use 4 cans of unseasoned great northern beans. just rinse them really good and watch the amount of water you add, you won't need quite as much. This was a big hit and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmorin217

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made these beans to go with my smoked chicken dinner. I did a quick soak on the GN beans and then cooked an hour as per directed. Next time I would not cook that long b4 going into the slow cooker, but mine cooks sort of hot. I subed the salt pork for 1/2 lb browned bacon. I tasted them after a cpl hrs and added a little more mustard & ginger. My family all loved them and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States