Maple and Ginger Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Without reviews i tried this, & it is very good. I liked the ginger in the recipe, gave it new kick! I'd of never thought of putting ginger in this dish. I only gave it 4 stars even though it tastes wonderful because i think this much real maple syrup is a bit expensive to use for a basically baked bean dish. Would make this agin, but would try imitation maple syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Not sure what I did wrong, but these were not good - they came out very bland. My husband and I stood over the crock pot, repeatedly tasting then adding various spices we thought were missing until we finally gave up. I did discover through this recipe, however, that real maple syrup is heaven on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
After reading the poor review above, I thought maybe what this recipe needed was ketchup, so I added a 1/4 cup. Since I don't eat pork, I didn't put that in, and remembering that last time I made baked beans they were too sweet, I didn't put in the 1/4 cup of brown sugar. The flavors were wonderful! (Though I would reduce the amount of water by a cup, as it was too juicy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
After reading the reviews I was a little leary to try this recipe. I will have to say that I am very glad I did. There were a few subtle things that I changed only because of previous experience with cooking beans. The first was I added an extra cup of water so that the beans were nearly covered with the liquid mixture. I also added 1/4 cup more of brown sugar to help off set the extra water. I used the syrup I had on hand and it did not come out too sweet. I cooked the beans on high in the slow cooker for 5 1/2 hrs. and the beans soaked up most of the liquid so that it was not watery like previously stated. This recipe was a big hit with the family and we will be enjoying this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I cooked the beans on high, and after 7 hrs, they were still a bit runny. Some of my family members really liked them, but my son and I prefer the baked beans that I do in the oven. I used real maple syrup, and probably could have used the fake syrup for a very similar taste, and less expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TINAFARRENKOPF
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Just a comment on this recipe I submitted. Wow, haven't looked at this site in awhile... anyhow, in defense of this recipe... this is a variation of the more traditional New England baked bean dish (made with just brown sugar and/or molasses with ground mustard) and it is meant to be "subtle". Bland and slightly sweet actually with a hint of ginger zippiness. It is not like the baked bean dishes from the American West and South which are much spicier and zesty (which I also love, been looking for a good bbq/ranch style/southwestern type of bean recipe to try). Ketchup and other spices, as some reviewers suggested and added, seem almost sacrilegious. LOL As for the amount of water you add to the beans, the recipe as I originally submitted stated that it had to be monitored and adjusted accordingly. Different altitudes (I'm in Colorado) and crockpots will require some tweaking. Also, I always stir the beans a few times in the last few hours, which crushes a few beans and thickens up the dish overall. If there is too much water, I remove some. Cooking is an art, not a precise science... tweak as you go... adding more of "this" next time and less of "that"... which is why there are so many recipes for the "same dishes" out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
our family loves baked beans. the flavours were excellent. I needed to cook it a lot longer as it was a bit too runny. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I had to try these after reading the creator's review - her approach to cooking sounded like mine. The only modification I made was to use heaping teaspoons of ginger and mustard (it's a habit), and they're fabulous. Precooked, and then into the crock pot on low for 11.5 hours . . . they're for dinner tomorrow, and I'm so excited to taste how the flavors meld after setting for a day. Thanks for my new baked beans recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I use a half pound of bacon diced and fried in place of the salt pork. I sometimes use all molasses instead of the maple syrup. No matter how you make this one it is a keeper and tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
If there were 6 stars it would have my vote!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover2000

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States