Mansaka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I loved this. My only problem I had making it was cooking the potatoes. They always ended up hard instead of tender. Am I cooking them too long in the microwave?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MacKenzie Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Delicious, but a lot of work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This recipe was a little bit bland and I'm thinking of doubling the mushroom, onion and tomato portions but overall very yummy. It would be a great winter food for when you just want something warm and comfort food like! I also did not add the beef because I am a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This dish definitely hits the spot! The aroma and taste is wonderful. Whilst putting the dish together I found the meat to be slightly dry. Realising it had a little flour in it, I added 125 ml water and found it gave a better consistency. I added more grated cheese on top and baked it a little longer than recommended. The final result was magnificent! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keta Pretorius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Was really good, but I omitted too many ingredients to be very reliable. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really thought the spices were a nice change from normal, but the casserole just didn't live up to my expectations. Think we might try it again but this time fry the potatoes first to give them an extra crisp. Seems like it was missing something but can't put my finger on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I am a proficient cook, and cook regularly. I love cooking and have a diverse taste for ethnic foods, and was excited to try this one. I used 6 potatoes instead of 4 for this recipe. It was enough to cover the two layers as mentioned in the recipe. I found the idea of cinnamon exciting and followed the recipe to a T. Unfortunately, I found it to lack attention grabbing flavor. The flavors were subtle with the cinnamon being the mainstay in this recipe. It seemed to cancel the others including the garlic. It was good. That is it. I suggest increasing the amount of spices to increase the flavor in the recipe. The only one I would keep constant is the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eugenix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was very tasty and easy to make. I couldn't care less if it is an authentic Danish dish or not as an earlier reviewer complained about. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Winner in our house! Ditched the shortening, and we used just 1 pound of meat--half ground beef, half ground sausage. Used a Mexican cheese mix, as that was the shredded cheese that was in the fridge (although I bet Swiss would give it a nice zing!). Exchanged the tomato sauce for diced tomatoes. Added in sautéed zucchini. Even sprinkled in a little bit of flax seed and wheat germ, knowing it wouldn't be noticed. My 2 and 4 year olds gobbled it up! It's a keeper and will probably become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ifer_mac34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Wow, what a great change. I was unsure about the cinnamon, but it really did make the dish! This will be a regular in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States