Manjar (Dulce de Leche) from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
this did not work out for me. too watery, even after adding 3 cups of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I had read in several recipes that you cannot use nonfat milk as it will not thicken. I used organic nonfat milk (4c), organic whole cane unrefined sugar(1c), organic vanilla, and one can of nonfat sweetened condensed milk, and of course the baking soda after one hour. Mine thickened just as described. I don't know if it was the added can of scm or the whole cane unrefined sugar (which still contains the molasses and produces a richer taste - though it's a taste not for everyone). I also kept the heat on medium after it came to a boil through about 40min into the process. This can speed up the process but you have to be careful not to burn the sugars with too high of heat. It also requires more attention the higher the heat. Note: adding the baking soda will temporarily almost double the volume, so be sure to have room to prevent spill over. My nonfat version was done in 1h20m. I think it's delicious. I will say again though that the unrefined whole cane sugar does have more of a molasses flavor than refined sugar. As one site said, if you are someone that has started replacing whole wheat flour for white flour in your recipes, you'll probably be fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Turned out good. Tasted great. I did not have whole milk, so I used 3 cups fat free milk and 1 cup heavy cream. Other then that did exactly as the recipe said and it came out great at the time stated in the recipe. Sorry it didn't work out for the others. Try it again. Don't forget the baking soda, that what gives it the pudding consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was my first attempt to make Dulce de leche from scratch, and I am very pleased with the results. A few notes: 1) This takes time, but if you cook it on low, you only need to check in on it occasionally. When I made it, I cooked on low and it took about 4.5 hours, but at such a low heat I only needed to check in on it about once every half an hour. That means that it is not a hassle if you are doing other chores around the house. 2) It is very important to strain the dulce de leche before it is eaten or stored. The purpose of the baking soda in this recipe is to keep the milk from coagulating. That being said, there will be some small amount of coagulation at the top, and these weird bits will interfere with the other smooth, delicious experience. I will note that in the past I have made dulce de leche by boiling the can of sweetened condensed milk, and the raw ingredient approach produces a far superior result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Coming from a Puerto Rican family, I grew up on dulce de leche. This recipe turned out well but took a little too long. Dulce de Leche is actually known throughout all Latin countries including the Caribbean and is actually said to have originated in Argentina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Tried it with heavy cream instead of whole milk and brown sugar; that worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this recipe did nor come out at all the way it should have. we spent 2 hours on it. it was two hours of work for nothing. we ended up just having to buy caramel which was less time and effort and gave us what we wanted right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was a really tasty recipe but it took over 2 hours for me, though I doubled the recipe. I started to get impatient and turned up the heat a little in the last half hour which may have helped it along. As per another reviewer's advice, I added 2.5 times the amount of sugar, so 5 cups total. I think that amount might have been too much though. I also forgot the baking soda. It turned out really tasty, thick and caramelly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwendolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
As written, it does not work, even with extra sugar. Making this takes time. Cook for one hour, add 1/2 tsp of baking soda (let foam, don't try to stir it in), cook for another 1-2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Mine turned out great! Is the USA you have to use sweetened condensed milk, otherwise it would be too runny (all milk seems watered down here). Other than that, it is a good basic recipe that tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Beasley

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Dulce de Leche

Turn sweetened condensed milk into a delicious caramel sauce.

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States