Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Definitely a hit... and I thought the leftovers tasted even better! However, I substituted the mozz and parm with a full bag of the pre-grated Italian Mix Cheese made by Sargento. Then added one additional cup of mozz. Instead of just salt, pepper and parsley, I used garlic salt, parsley, oregano, sweet basil and onion. YUM! The filling made enough for an entire box of manicotti noodles. Hint: Only pre-cook the noodles until they are slighty tender, the sauces and cheeses assist in cooking it the rest of the way. And, to fill, try using a pastry bag! Took me less than 5 minutes to prepare after I precooked the noodles. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
635 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This is a great dish. I used a big ziplock and cut a hole in the corner to squirt the filling into the manicotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
578 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This was wonderful!! Though I did make my own sauce (I sauteed ablout 1/2 lb of mushrooms in butter and garlic and the added a 16 oz can of tomato sauce and added some basil, pepper and more garlic to taste) and I added extra mozzarella on the top toward the end of baking. This was my first time making manicotti and the first time my husband had ever had it at all. We both LOVED it! and it made yummy leftovers too. Will definatly be making again soon! Oh and I used the zipper bag method for filling. I left the pasta a bit more under cooked than "al dente" (the box said 7-10 minutes and I cooked them for almost 5). WOW it was so easy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Quick tip: You don't have to pre-cook the manicotti noodles. Easier to stuff that way and saves time cooking and waiting for them to cool. They will cook in the sauce to a perfect consistency while in the oven. Just cover with tin foil and bake for 45 minutes. Remove foil and bake for an additional 15 minutes so the cheese on top melts and gets that yummy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Tasty. I put the cheese filling nto a ziploc, cut the corner, piped it into manicotti. No mess. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Good recipe, but I needed to make modifications for the second time around. I omitted the eggs, since they seemed to make the cheese sauce too runny. Instead, I used 1/2 cup of Italian bread crumbs. Also, I used 1 tablespoon of parsely and 16 ounces of mozzerella cheese. (Throw in some garlic powder too!) Yum. The cheese mixture was almost too easy to stuff into the pasta and came out very delicious. Hint: Add 1/4 of sour cream to your cheese mixture if it seems too dry before stuffing. Enjoy!! Thanks for the start of a great recipe Anny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I think this recipe would be very bland if you didn't add some extras. I added 3 cloves of garlic (I'd add even more, actually), fresh basil, and oregano. It was very good with everything added. A great basic recipe to begin with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This is a really good recipe (and much easier than some of the other manicotti recipes on this site). It does have a lot (A LOT!) of cheese in it, though, so if you're health-conscious, you can take out some of the cheese and replace it with spinach, like I did. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This was easy to make and tasted great! I wish I'd undercooked the shells to make them easier to fill. I added some cooked turkey sausage for my "it's not a meal without meat" husband with good results. Only thing I would suggest is covering the baking dish with foil and cooking for 35 minutes unstead of 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Easy simple recipe. I don't cook my noodles ahead of time. I just put them in a large bowl with some hot water while I make the filling. They're easy to stuff that way and will cook all the way thru when you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisacooksnow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States