Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I have made this 2 times now & it will definately become a regular meal at our house. Both times I halved the original recipe, which was plenty for our small family. Next time I will make a full batch & freeze half. I also substituted Italian sausage for the ground beef. It definately makes for a rich dish. YUM! TIP: I put the filling in a Ziploc baggie, snip the end & use it to "pipe" the filling into the manicotti shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Excellent recipe! Thank you :) A little tip for easy Manicotti Noodle prep... Stuffing the shells can be VERY time consuming. I parboil the noodles (half of the box requested boil time) and I cut a slit down the backside and open it up into a square and add the filling. I roll it back together and place it in the pan slit side down. No one knows the difference once it is cooked in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Oh man, is this AMAZING. Followed a recommendation, and halved the garlic and used 1/2 pound sausage and 1/2 pound beef. It took a while to make, but it was not hard by any means - something you open a bottle of wine while making; by the time the wine is done, the incredible meal is done as well. The white sauce TOTALLY makes the dish, and goes well with Ragu Traditional, which is mild enough to not overpower anything else. The manicotti stuffing would definately have been bland, if not for the sausage and the Italian seasonings I added (this is a MUST). Thanks though, adding this to my recipe box as I write this!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT dish!! For those of you that are unsure if you should try this or not-- just do it! You will not be sorry............................................I do have one suggestion, instead of ground beef, substitute italian sausage! Much more flavorful and delicious. This entree is not difficult at all, in fact, it is a lot of fun to prepare. I grew up in an italian household and this dish is extremely authentic tasting. You will love it! My husband was so impressed with this dish, and could not stop raving about it while he was eating... Overall grade" A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I loved this recipe. I omitted the chicken boullion cubes. Instead of cooking the pasta before I baked it, I stuffed them uncooked. I made sure there was enough sauce to cover the pasta, and I covered the dish tightly with aluminum foil. I then baked it at 400 degrees for 40 minutes. It was fantastic!! This is one of my favorite recipes, and I have made it with either ground beef or ground Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was very good except for the fact of the white sauce making the dish way toooooooo SALTY! I agree with a previous reviewer that the chicken bouillon needs to be reduced or just removed completely. Also, I used 3/4 pound of italian sausage mixed with 1/4 pound of ground sirloin along with 1 1/2 pounds of ricotta. Doesn't really take as long as you think it would to prepare, especially if you condense down the instructions. Will definately make this one again, but will omit the chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
As with the other recommendations, I substituted the hamburger with Italian sausage. I also put the red sauce on top first and then "ribboned" the white sauce for a prettier appearance. I did not think this was all that time consuming, especially if you use a ziploc bag with the tip cut off to stuff the shells. And it freezes great! Freeze once assembled and then put it in the fridge the night before to thaw. This will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGEL.9
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Amazing. It was time consuming but worth it - every once in a while. I followed other's advice and used Italian Sausage in place of ground beef. YUM! I also made ½ the manicotti spinach free for the non-green compatible in my family. Used Prego mushroom spaghetti sauce and it was pre-seasoned so I ditched the basil at the end as over kill. I used heavy whipping cream for the cream sauce because that is what was in the frig. Not sure what this did to the taste, and trying not to think what it did to the calorie count. I did add ¼ t dried basil to the cream sauce and it seemed to have bit more flavor. Rave reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGEL.9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I did add some shredded mozzarella cheese to the white sauce to give it just a little more cheese (personal preference). This was amazing. I have never made manicotti before and it turned out beautifully...actually quite proud of myself. I did use a plastic bag as other reviewers stated to help "stuff" the noodles easier...and it worked really well. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I made this for a casual dinner party and served it with herbed foccacia and a green salad. I received many compliments on the entire meal. I also filled the shells the day before and made the white sauce on the morning of the party. The best part of all--no pots to clean up while guests were here! Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Nancy in Pickering, Ontario
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States