Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The spaghetti sauce you use is "key" in this recipe. It will make or break it. Use fresh homemade sauce or an exceptionally good quality prepacked sauce. It was very good, but did not blow my socks off. Will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This manicotti recipe is really worth trying! My husband and I liked it a lot. The only exception is I didn't make the white sauce though I'm sure it's good with it! I added a few lightly sauteed mushrooms over the top of the meat sauce instead and it was good. The spinach/meat sauce is light tasting and cheesy. I always have trouble filling manicotti so I put the filling in a plastic bag and cut a small hole in the tip of the corner and piped the filling into the manicotti. It seemed to be easier to fill that way. Overall, the recipe is exceptional and I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fantastic recipe, I used Classico 4 cheese sauce, milder and lets the rest of the other flavours of the stuffing come through. Can be made meatless also, or add some diced peppers, like cubanells or banana peppers, something along this line. Whole small tomatos can be used also instead of a pasta sauce, along with the white sauce. Have tried all of these, and makes for something different each time. I have even used pulled bbq pork and it was amazing, and store bought bbq chicken and shredded it, all of these add such flavor and saves time having to cook these indivdually. Hope that I have given you some great ideas and saved you time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious ! Everything turned out perfect. I added a handful of mozza cheese to the filling and also sprinkled some more on top at the last 5 min of cooking. The only changes I made was to cut down on the bouillon to 1 cube and it was still too salty so I made another batch of the white sauce without any bouillon and mixed them together, it turned out perfect. Next time I will only use half a cube. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The filling has great flavor. I cheated and made a package alfredo sauce, just to save time. I also added mozzarella to the top and broiled. I have 3 kids - 12, 10, 5. They each ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this dish following the recipe. The only change I made was to make my own manicotti crepes. Many who rated this a 5-star recipe have made changes to the recipe itself. It was good, but I probably wouldn't make it again, as I think I would rather have plain 3-cheese manicotti served with Italian sausage or meatballs in sauce as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious, tastes like its from a restaraunt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
best manicotti recipe i have tried. i made some changes and used spicy italian sausage instead of hamburger and i add some mozzarella cheese in with the ricotta. i have made this several times now and it's a crowd favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Doubled the white sauce and used Italian sausage. Best manicotti I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
We loved this recipe!!!! I've tried a few stuffed shells recipes from this site and this is THE ONE!!! I didn't use the white sauce, just topped with more sauce and mozz. cheese and called it a night. I also made extra stuffed shells and froze them for an easy meal on a busy night. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrabelle, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States