Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
We loved this recipe!!!! I've tried a few stuffed shells recipes from this site and this is THE ONE!!! I didn't use the white sauce, just topped with more sauce and mozz. cheese and called it a night. I also made extra stuffed shells and froze them for an easy meal on a busy night. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrabelle, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very very good! Time consuming to prepare but worth it. The basil added to the spaghetti sauce really zested things up. I did it with ground beef and followed the recipe exactly before reviewing. I think next time we'll try Italian sausage like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hduenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Substitution of Italian Sausage for ground beef works very well. Also very helpful to put meat/cheese/egg mix in a bag, cut adequate hole size and pipet into shells. Works very well and much more efficient than stuffing shells manually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
every one loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made my own manicotti shells (from this site) and it's amazing every time. A bit time consuming, but delicious and very impressive looking to serve for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was pretty good, I threw some white wine into the white sauce, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I'm a complete novice when it comes to cooking. I was a little intimidated when I saw this recipe, but decided to give it a try anyway. I'm so glad I did! It was fairly simple to make and tasted wonderful! Some of the girls at work tried a bite whn I brought leftovers, and everyone was very impressed. I will DEFINATELY be making this in the future! Glad I came across this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NellieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
used sausage and stuffed jumbo shells because I've never had much luck stuffing manicotti noodles. really good recipe! May be my replacement for lasagna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadeWithLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Very good, however the ricotta-spinach-meat stuffing became very dry due to the half-cooked pasta leeching all moisture out during baking. It may be worth it to fully cook the manicotti then deal with stuffing difficulties, or somehow make the stuffing more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
great recipe! I also, like most people, substituted sausage for the beef...other than that, I followed the recipe exact. I stuffed the shells uncooked, using a ziploc bag w/ the tip cut off. this easily made two 9x13 pans of manicotti, so I made the white sauce twice. not doubled the sauce, but actually made it two times in a row, to pour into each seperate pan. (the other pan I put in my freezer).. I bought fresh spinach, added it by sight (I added it to the frying pan w/ the meat..) didn't even cut up half of a 'bundle', and it seemed adequate. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States