Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by debbie
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
this was very very yummy; i did use sweet italian sausage instead of ground beef like everyone else. i ended up with a good amount of filling left over; it was a little difficult for me to use a ziplock bag, maybe im just dumb when it comes to that but it was probably much easier than spooning it into the cooked manicotti. so yummy and full of carbs and calories; will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I have made this dish a few times and I absolutely love it. I prefer using pasta shells instead of the manicotti noodles. The next time I make it, I want to use spicy Italian sausage instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a nice change from the usual lasagna or spaghetti night at our home. A little time consuming, (not to mention the dishes to wash after!) yet worth the extra effort. I have no problems with this recipe as written (I know, I know here it comes.. ;) even though I made some minute changes like 1. Added some italian seasoning in with the meat with a little extra garlic salt. 2. Reduce olive oil to 1 T. 3. Added all of the fresh herbs to the white sauce. 4. Sprinkled maybe 1/2 C of fresh grated mozzarella cheese over the manicotti before adding any of the sauces. 5. Used a shredded parmesan & romano blend with another 1/2 C of mozzarella for the final 10 minutes. Absolutely loved the finished product & will make this again. May try adding some sliced olives &/or mushrooms to the meat mixture next time. I used the garden mix of ragu spaghetti sauce, it was perfect & gave me the idea to try some extra veggies. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The spaghetti sauce you use is "key" in this recipe. It will make or break it. Use fresh homemade sauce or an exceptionally good quality prepacked sauce. It was very good, but did not blow my socks off. Will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This manicotti recipe is really worth trying! My husband and I liked it a lot. The only exception is I didn't make the white sauce though I'm sure it's good with it! I added a few lightly sauteed mushrooms over the top of the meat sauce instead and it was good. The spinach/meat sauce is light tasting and cheesy. I always have trouble filling manicotti so I put the filling in a plastic bag and cut a small hole in the tip of the corner and piped the filling into the manicotti. It seemed to be easier to fill that way. Overall, the recipe is exceptional and I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fantastic recipe, I used Classico 4 cheese sauce, milder and lets the rest of the other flavours of the stuffing come through. Can be made meatless also, or add some diced peppers, like cubanells or banana peppers, something along this line. Whole small tomatos can be used also instead of a pasta sauce, along with the white sauce. Have tried all of these, and makes for something different each time. I have even used pulled bbq pork and it was amazing, and store bought bbq chicken and shredded it, all of these add such flavor and saves time having to cook these indivdually. Hope that I have given you some great ideas and saved you time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious ! Everything turned out perfect. I added a handful of mozza cheese to the filling and also sprinkled some more on top at the last 5 min of cooking. The only changes I made was to cut down on the bouillon to 1 cube and it was still too salty so I made another batch of the white sauce without any bouillon and mixed them together, it turned out perfect. Next time I will only use half a cube. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The filling has great flavor. I cheated and made a package alfredo sauce, just to save time. I also added mozzarella to the top and broiled. I have 3 kids - 12, 10, 5. They each ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made this dish following the recipe. The only change I made was to make my own manicotti crepes. Many who rated this a 5-star recipe have made changes to the recipe itself. It was good, but I probably wouldn't make it again, as I think I would rather have plain 3-cheese manicotti served with Italian sausage or meatballs in sauce as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious, tastes like its from a restaraunt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States