Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Phenomenal recipe!!! I made a few small changes based on my personal preferences. I didn't want to use Italian sausage so I found a pack of ground beef that also came with a helping of pork for a meatloaf. I don't know about everyone else's grocery store but I shop at Publix and they have this readily available. I seasoned the meat (Tony's Chachere's, Mrs Dash onion blend, McCormick Grillmates roasted garlic and herb, a little salt and pepper) before browning it and that eliminated any possible blandness. I added about a cup, maybe a cup and a half, of a 6 cheese Italian blend to the meat/spinach/ricotta mixture because I had some in the fridge that needed to be used. I used a little more spaghetti sauce because 1/4 cup didn't cover the bottom of my pan. Also used heavy whipping cream for the white sauce instead of half and half. I just like heavy cream better. Topped it all off with parmesan and romano. markblau did a great job with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made this recipe with my wife last night and followed the directions and ingredients exactly. It was excellent and everything I had hoped for. My wife said it was great but was expecting more spaghetti sauce on top. It took about an hour to prep and then of course the cook time, so this would probably be a good dish to bring for a holiday or prepare the night before and bake the night of. It's not a quick fix, but really good food!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
outstanding as is. substituted dried herbs for fresh, still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Amazing! Made this last night for some friends and family they all loved it and it was so cute seeing the kids scrape their plates getting all the veggies up too. Followed some of the reviews and used sausage and ground turkey and used cottage cheese in place of ricotta cheese and added 1 cup of shredded italian cheese blend to that mixture a little bit of nutmeg then halfed that and added spinach to one half and broccoli to the other, since I hate spinach. To the white sauce I added 1 cup of itailan cheese and some italian seasoning. I also taste as I go along to see what is needed and add along the way like pepper and some hot pepper flakes yeah we love pepper. Since I had 5 adults and 3 kids to feed I doubled the recipe and had 28 stuffed manicotti noodles that I didn't boil before hand and this was my first time making stuffed noodles but I don't boil my lasagna either so I used more sauce and covered the pan tightly with foil and cooked on 400 for 40mins. Stuffing was not fun I had an issue with the pastry bag style stuffing that I dropped the bag in the pan with the red sauce and already stuffed shells and made a big mess of the kitchen. So I gave up on that and just used my hands to stuff which was a little bit easier but overall it was time consuming process from start to finish. The end result was worth it with not even enough for leftovers but this will only be a special occasion dish with all the work it takes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
My two picky eaters loved this! Since my family is small, I reduced the amounts used for the filling: I used a half-pound of ground beef; maybe about a cup's worth of fresh spinach (which I lightly boiled, then chopped before adding it to the beef); a cup of cottage cheese (we don't have ricotta); about a teaspoon of dried parsley; and then one beaten egg. As I was using what I already had in the house, I also substituted in 12 jumbo shells (parboiled, about 6 minutes) instead of the manicotti tubes, which will give us enough for two meals. I used the full amounts for the white sauce, though. Yes, it was a little salty, but that's because I'm not used to too much salt. My husband really liked the layering of the flavors between the white sauce and the jarred pasta sauce (I used one that had Italian sausage in it). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I love it when I make my family smile! We all loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time and everyone loved the final result who tried it. I did tweak some of the ingredients, to our tastes, but stuck pretty close to the original recipe. I had no trouble filling the manicotti shells with the filling after we placed in a zip-loc bag and cut the corner off to fill faster/easier. Overall this was a great recipe and we will definitely be cooking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
All in all a great recipe! I suggest adding a little more cheese than this recipe calls for...i made this to serve four and had approx. A cup of shredded parmesan and Romano to top the manicotti. Also, be generous with your sauce, I followed the recipe and it was just a little dry. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia Poulsen
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very good, needed more tomatosauce, but that's it. The time is worth it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Poulsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Amazing! It's quite a bit of work, but so worth it! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States