Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
One of if not the best I've made. Only change was itialian sausage instead of beef. I made this a month ago (on my boat) and although a bit time consuming it was easy even there. Planning on making it again this week however this time I'm going to use jumbo shells. Can't wait, just have to go to the local italian market (north end of Boston) for the best sausage ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Absolutely WONDERFUL!!! And not as much "work" as I had feared. I pulled it together in about 30 min. I only made three small changes -- I used Jumbo Shells instead of manicotti; I added quite a bit of salt (probably a 1/2 teaspoon or more) to the meat/cheese/spinach mixture; and instead of the 2 cups of half-and-half I used 1 cup of 2% milk and 1 cup of half-and-half. The layering of the white sauce and tomato sauce makes for an attractive presentation and it's rich enough that a simple salad and some Italian bread are enough to complete the meal. This dish was PERFECT in every way and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is definitely my favorite manicotti recipe and is a keeper for sure. I would go a little lighter on the parsley but the white sauce, onions and garlic are very nice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael Hansen
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Sooo good!!! My one year old almost are an entire shell by herself! The only thing I did differently is used a sweet basil tomato sauce and did not add extra basil. I also didn't measure the sauce on top or the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Hansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was delicious but, the manicotti was near impossible to stuff & I tried to use the ziplock bags...plus I cooked it too long & some of the noodles got burnt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cece Price J

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This wasn't great for me. Maybe I did not use a good enough sauce? I think if I were to make it again, I would make a homemade sauce. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made it for my family for the first time and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krysten K.
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
It was great!!! I am not a cook but this turned out great! I might venture away from the hamburger helper more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have made this a couple times and I really like it. I need to cut the garlic about in half to make it more kid friendly. I split this into 2 casserole dishes and freeze one. I don't add the cream sauce to the frozen casserole until I have it thawed and ready to make. It's pretty easy to halve that and I think it wouldn't freeze well. One kid loved it, one wouldn't touch it because of the "green stuff". Nice change from the regular lasagna, and I liked that it had plenty of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Super time consuming but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States