Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I make this exactly as directed and LOVE it. No need to be too careful with not breaking the shells, just stuff them as best you can. I also just add any remaining filling around the stuffed shells and it cooks great. Restaurant quality, and a keeper for sure! I would love if you could message me with any other of your catering recipes, as this was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I can only say, what a great recipe. I used italian sausage and stuffed the shells uncooked. Just left them in a little longer. Turned out great with an outstanding flavour. Will never mind making Manicotti again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Although this recipe took quite a bit of time to prepare, the results were entirely worth it. I didn't change a thing and it was delicious. Make sure to drain the spinach well to prevent sogginess in the dish; I placed the cooked spinach in a strainer over a bowl, pressed down to remove liquid, and left it there for several minutes to drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Kids and hubby gave the big thumbs up. It was delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe is so good and yes the white sauce makes the dish. I also added my own Italian seasonings to the meat and dish to make it have more of a kick. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kgibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this recipe last night almost exactly as written, incorporating the recommendations of others to substitute the ground beef with spicy Italian sausage. Unfortunately I forgot the parmesan cheese in the last step but this certainly didn't take away from the flavor. This was absolutely delicious! Making roué for the first time wasn't even that hard. The white sauce certainly makes this recipe unique and was worth the effort. Yummy! My boyfriend even asked to take some of the leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I would give this 3 1/2 stars... I followed the recipe as written and agreed with others that the meat mixture was a little bland and lacking some flavor. Next time I will add some different spices. The white sauce was great and the recipe was easy to follow. Give this one a try and add some spices to your meat mixture, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynsMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe is excellent the whole family loved it. The only change I made was I used fresh spinach and fresh pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Very delicious, filling meal! I only used about half the ricotta cheese as my husband normally doesn't care for it. I also only prepared about half of this recipe and am freezing half of the filling and sauce to be used next time. A lot of work but very tasty- the two sauces make this especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Phenomenal recipe!!! I made a few small changes based on my personal preferences. I didn't want to use Italian sausage so I found a pack of ground beef that also came with a helping of pork for a meatloaf. I don't know about everyone else's grocery store but I shop at Publix and they have this readily available. I seasoned the meat (Tony's Chachere's, Mrs Dash onion blend, McCormick Grillmates roasted garlic and herb, a little salt and pepper) before browning it and that eliminated any possible blandness. I added about a cup, maybe a cup and a half, of a 6 cheese Italian blend to the meat/spinach/ricotta mixture because I had some in the fridge that needed to be used. I used a little more spaghetti sauce because 1/4 cup didn't cover the bottom of my pan. Also used heavy whipping cream for the white sauce instead of half and half. I just like heavy cream better. Topped it all off with parmesan and romano. markblau did a great job with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States