Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I really hesitated to use the white sauce in this but it was really a good meal. 4 stars because it lacked spices. I used Italian sausage and added red pepper flakes and black pepper. Also browned the meat with the onions and added the garlic at the end. The olive oil is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I love this recipe has quite a few steps but is well worth it in the end!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The best manicotti recipe ever! Made it for a Christmas party and got rave reviews! I didn't cook the noodles at all and they were easy to fill. Baked 350° for 45 minutes. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is really yummy and definitely comfort food material. The white sauce is very tasty although next time, I might cut down on the bouillon and just add to taste. I used a bouillon "paste" instead of the powder as that is what I have on hand. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was delicious. I did 1/2 sausage and 1/2 hamburger and it was great! I think I would put a little less parsley next time. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent flavor and was a hit at my house. My kids really loved it. The only thing I did different was to add frozen spinach to the meat mixture once the meat was cooked . I then added the Ricotta and sone Cream Cheese. Once mixed well with a splash of onion and garlic powder, the reset went well. Stuffing the shells is kind of a pain, but once you get the hang of it, it goes case. The extra meat sauce was placed on the bottom of the dish with the sauce and then placed the shells. Used extra sauce to be sure the pasta was cooked thru, and voila...... Success!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEFFRHEAULT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I did use half hamburger, half Italian sausage. I think that, along with the white sauce, really makes this recipe a go to. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My husband loved it! I made it with ground venison (seasoned with italian seasoning, basil and garlic. Everything else I did the same as recipe stated but mozzerella cheese on top at the end 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Very tasty! Used sausage instead, the white sauce is key to overall flavor. Made them with and without spinach for picky eaters. I've also subbed on occasion ricotta cheese for the milk, very moist and a bit more rich in flavor but on its own and with original ingredients a definite 5 star. Very filling but so yummy you almost cant stop yourself from seconds ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I had ricotta cheese & ground beef to use up & went searching for recipes that I had all the ingredients on hand & came up with this one. After reading reviews I thought AS WRITTEN the recipe might be a bit boring/bland (many who rated it 5-stars made A LOT OF CHANGES), but still some people raved about it as written so I thought it would be at least 3-star-okay & edible. But we really didn't like it. The filling is incredibly bland & the "white sauce" is INCREDIBLY salty. I feel bad that when I tasted the sauce I thought "way too salty" but I went ahead & put it on thinking it might turn out okay because the filling seemed to be quite boring/bland, but what was I thinking? Because the sauce & filling are separated it was biting into supersalty-sauce over veryblah filling. And the recipe calls for 12 oz pkg of shells, I used a 8 oz pkg (14 shells....I didn't add or subtract stars from the recipe because I had/used less shells than called for in the recipe) & I used all the rest of the ingredients as written & I barely had enough filling. We ended up eating only 4 shells for dinner & passed on seconds, & the other 10 shells sat in the fridge because nobody wanted the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States