Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made a healthier version using 90% lean ground sirlion with 3 TBS Italian Seasoing, low fat ricotta cheese, fat free half and half, light butter and used low fat mozzerela cheese at the end instead of Parmesan. Tasted excellent! For those of you on Weight Watchers it came out to 12 points per serving after the reductions (19 points per original recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I loved this recipe. The bechamel type sauce made a welcome change and with the red sauce carefully spooned over the white, it was a very pretty dish. I did add a cup of shredded mozzerella cheese to the meat/ricotta mixture and two tablespoons tomato paste. I boiled my shells for just five minutes and used a plastic storage bag (1qt) snipped the corner and squeezed the meat mixture into the shells. When I was through filling the shells and they were lined up in my baking dish I also added cup of water to the bottom. Added the rest of my sauces, sealed wih foil and baked one hour. I fix Manicotti often so it was an easy dish besides I'm an empty nester with no children around asking "is it dinner yet"? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I make this about 2x monthly- a real house fav! To make stuffing the shells easier, I use my longest, fattest cake deco tip and the bag. Fill with the cheese and stuff shells that way- less tearing of the shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Godd recipe, You can speed things up by using thawed, frozen lasagna sheets, cut in half and rolled in place of the manicotti tubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I found this recipe to be less labor intensive than I feared, but it definitely needs some tweaking. Here are my recommendations: I just used one egg, and mixed it in with the ricotta, that way you don't need to wait for the meat mixture to cool before adding it. I also question whether the spinach needs to be cooked before adding, but I did do that. I would only use a 1/2 lb of meat, and garlic salt/pepper it. Adding the meat to the red sauce rather than the shell stuffing is also an option. The white sauce needs something. I would suggest adding white wine and/or a minced garlic clove to give it more depth. I also cut the chicken buillion to 1 tsp., but I think you could omit it completely if you added the wine/garlic. I sprinkled the top of the dish with mozzarella/parmesean, and it could use it before the white sauce is added also. All in all the premise of this dish is a good one, and I wasn't intimidated by the labor (it took about 45 min. total to put together from start to finish). I think if you try these variations above, it could be a really spectacular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made this last night and the whole.family finished their plates! Was really yummy! Yes, a bit time consuming to stuff but other than that it was quick and easy and well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This dish is spectacular! My daughter says it is the best meal I've ever made. I did not use ground beef but used chicken sausage instead. I also used Prego Spaghetti Sauce with Italian Sausage. The other adjustment was to use 1.5 tablespoons of bouillon and added mozzarella cheese at the end with the Parmesan cheese. Delicious!!! Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dresher, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I've never precooked the shells. They fill much easier uncooked, and turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
soooooooo delicious. well worth the time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Absolutley DELICIOUS! Even my picky father in law loved it! I actually made stuffed shells with this stuffing instead of manicotti and it's pretty much the same thing... I took the advice of others and used sausage as well... I chopped up 4 chicken tomatoe basil sausages and added it to ground turkey instead of the beef. I also used fat free half/half and low fat ricotta just to make it a little healthier. I added an additional garlic and extra parsley as well as basil. Gave it a great aroma and delicious flavor... there was no need for additional seasoning other than a bit of salt to the meat mixture. I also added low fat shredded mozzarella on top of the parmesan during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Prep time was a little longer than I wanted but the finished product made it well worth it!! 5 stars for sure!! Thanks so much for the recipe! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States