Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I enjoyed it, but it was just lacking something. My husband unfortunately didn't care for it. Has a lot! of spinach. Doubt we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belldandy34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It was a little liquidy and needed a bit more tomato sauce. Other than that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
WOW! This is amazing - tastes like it came from a 4 star restaurant :) My hubby couldn't get enough. It is easy to make (although it takes a while) and is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
SOOOO delicious! I added some mozzarella cheese in with the meat mixture and just added the frozen spinach into the meat after taking it off the heat. It thawed by the time the meat was cooled enough to add the ricottta cheese. Oh and I used about cup of skim milk instead of the half and half and it turned out just as good while sparing a few calories for this rich meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLFJAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is an excellent recipe, and to me, is a lot faster to put together than the recipe had me thinking. I make a couple (easy) changes: no parsley in the white sauce, I use ground pork instead of ground beef (which I believe has a better, softer, consistency and flavor), and I top with mozzarella cheese rather than parmesan (purely personal preference). Otherwise, I stay pretty true to the recipe. One tip, when you make the white sauce, after the bullion and flour comes to a bubble in the butter, slowly add the half and half, a little bit at a time, and it'll be easier to prevent any possible chunks from happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
YUM! this was very delicious! i made just as the recipe says, only thing is i used fresh spinach instead of frozen. My hubby loved it! Also tastes even better as leftovers! thank you so much for this delicious recipe. i will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was outstanding - both my husband and I loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and while it was time consuming, it was a great meal to prepare while having some wine and conversation. Just as a personal preference, the next time I make this, I'll probably decrease the amount of red sauce on top - but that is only because the white sauce is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was so delicious that my hubby who doesn't normally like heated pasta the next day...said that he would take the left overs in his lunch...to make it quicker to make...I substituted alfredo sauce instead of making the white sauce from scratch. It was so delicious! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
i always wow the fam with the red sauce from Bobby Flays Eggplant Parm and the 'Manacotti Shells' recipe from this site. The White Sauce will work out better if you cook the flour taste out in the butter for at least 2 mins then pour the 'warmed' 1/2 n 1/2 in slowly, while whisking until you have just 1/2 a cup left then pour the rest in. Now continue to whisk over med high and bring to boil. i boil for about 3-4 mins. it will thicken when cooled but will look like a milk shake when hot. Add parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
i made this last weekend for my family, they all raved about it, and finished the leftovers that night. i used half ground beef and half italian sausage, delicous! a littlde fiddly and time consuming, but well worth it. many thanks markblau!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States