Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is only my second review of a recipe on allrecipes (the other was for a peach cobbler). I have made this recipe twice now, with only minor tweaking to the ingredients and "production" method. The first time I used store bought manicotti shells and it was very, very good, 5 stars. The second time I made this (for a dinner party) I used the manicotti shells recipe found on this site and it was beyond very, very good. If there was a way to give it 10 stars, I would. (When I asked my 17-year-old pastaholic son how he liked it, he asked me to repeat my question because he "couldn't hear me over the angels singing" and begged me not to send our company home with any (I made two very large pans, most of which disappeared at dinner). It is an amaaazzzing recipe, made even better with the homemade manicotti shells. Yes, a lot of work (made it the day before and put in fridge to bake night of party), but you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Best White Sauce EVER!!! Very tasty! Might add 1/2 ground italian sausage and 1/2 hamburger next time. Great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this over the holidays while in Italy. I made my own manicotti shells as well. I loved the two sauces but I varied the sauces a little by adding some other seasonings to them. I also let the red sauce cook all day. I prefer to make my own red sauce, as a Sicilian/Italian I just can't bring myself to use store bought red sauce :) I also cut up some spicy Italian sausage and added it to the cheese mixture for one. I made two types, one with sausage and one without. The one with sausage was gone first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I enjoyed it, but it was just lacking something. My husband unfortunately didn't care for it. Has a lot! of spinach. Doubt we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belldandy34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It was a little liquidy and needed a bit more tomato sauce. Other than that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
WOW! This is amazing - tastes like it came from a 4 star restaurant :) My hubby couldn't get enough. It is easy to make (although it takes a while) and is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
SOOOO delicious! I added some mozzarella cheese in with the meat mixture and just added the frozen spinach into the meat after taking it off the heat. It thawed by the time the meat was cooled enough to add the ricottta cheese. Oh and I used about cup of skim milk instead of the half and half and it turned out just as good while sparing a few calories for this rich meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLFJAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is an excellent recipe, and to me, is a lot faster to put together than the recipe had me thinking. I make a couple (easy) changes: no parsley in the white sauce, I use ground pork instead of ground beef (which I believe has a better, softer, consistency and flavor), and I top with mozzarella cheese rather than parmesan (purely personal preference). Otherwise, I stay pretty true to the recipe. One tip, when you make the white sauce, after the bullion and flour comes to a bubble in the butter, slowly add the half and half, a little bit at a time, and it'll be easier to prevent any possible chunks from happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
YUM! this was very delicious! i made just as the recipe says, only thing is i used fresh spinach instead of frozen. My hubby loved it! Also tastes even better as leftovers! thank you so much for this delicious recipe. i will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was outstanding - both my husband and I loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and while it was time consuming, it was a great meal to prepare while having some wine and conversation. Just as a personal preference, the next time I make this, I'll probably decrease the amount of red sauce on top - but that is only because the white sauce is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States