Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was great! I used jumbo shells instead of manicotti because they are easier to stuff. I used a 9x13 inch pan, but still only used 1/2 of the meat filling and 1/2 of the shells. I froze the rest for later. I recommend doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I just served this to company last night and one of my guests who is a pretty picky eater called it "phenomenal" so I thought I just had to rate it. The only complaint I had was that the Italian sausage I used was a little too heavy on the fennel for our tastes, but even with that it was still delicious. I will definitely get a pastry bag and tip for the next time so the filling process is a little easier, but I will be making this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Made this last night and it was delicious! The only changes I made was I added a bit more sauce, a bit more cheese and I did not cook spinach like recipe stated. I just added the thawed, squeezed spinach to meat while it was cooling. My kids loved it and didnt even notice the mozzarella cheese that most manicotti recipes call for was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
We LOVED this! I was forced to substitute some things that I didn't have: most notably, I doubled the recipe and used 1 pound ground chicken, 1 pound mild italian sausage. I didn't have enough chicken broth cubes and had to substitute a little vegetable broth concentrate... my ricotta cheese only came in a 3.5 cup can... you know... but the end result was wonderful and let me tell you, the leftovers were even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is the first time I have ever made manicotti. It took a very long time to prepare, but it was worth every second! Absolutely delicious! I followed the suggestion to use Italian Sausage and it was spot on! I used a whole pound of mild ground italian sausage and a bit less garlic than the recipe called for because I don't like to be overpowered by garlic taste. Also omitted the chicken bouillion from the white sauce and everything was perfect! Really wowed my date! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
A lot of work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was so-oo good, but only 4 stars due to how time consuming it is to make. I couldn't get chopped spinach, so I took partially defrosted cut spinach and chopped it finely in the food processor. Didn't bother cooking it. I also chopped the meat finely as I browned it. The shopping list I printed called for 2 15oz. containers of ricotta. Didn't notice that the recipe called for 2 CUPS! Glad I added two containers, as it turned out perfect with, two eggs. I used a nozzle attachment on my cookie press to fill the shells.(That's why I chopped everything so finely) WAY easy! Next time I will add less chicken bouillon, as I thought the white sauce tasted too salty and a lot like chicken gravy, although not real noticeable combined with the spaghetti sauce, which I will use more of next time. I will make this again, despite the long prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I wouldn't change a thing, except next time I will make it with my homemade spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I loved this dish. My 5 and 3 year old kids ate it too. I halved the garlic and didn't cook the noodles and then refrigerated it overnight and baked it the next day. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States