Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I loved this dish. My 5 and 3 year old kids ate it too. I halved the garlic and didn't cook the noodles and then refrigerated it overnight and baked it the next day. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent. I used Primio Sweet Italian sausage (removed from the casings) instead of the ground beef. Once it was brown, I ground it in my food processor so the texture was more fine for the filling rather than "chunky". I also added 1 egg to the ricotta mixture - which proved to be a good choice. It really helped to bind the filling together. I used my own homemade marinara sauce, and made the bechamel sauce from the recipe (which was excellent). I had enough filling to fill an 8 oz. package of manicotti (14 pieces), and had some filling left over, which I put in the freezer to use for shells in the future. Everyone really enjoyed it. A bit time consuming - but well worth the effort, which is what Sunday family dinners is all about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was really good - I made a few changes and next time I would make a few more. I used ground turkey instead of beef, and was slightly short on ricotta, so made up the difference with cottage cheese. The filling itself was a little bland, and not near enough. I stuffed less than a box and a half of shells (I could only find 8 oz. boxes) and didn't quite use what WOULD have made a 12 oz. box, and I did NOT use a lot of filling per shell. Also the sauces were very tasty, but again, not quite enough and some of my pasta was dry. Next time I will probably 1.5x the filling and the white sauce, and maybe add a little something extra to the filling to give it more flavor - parmesan or maybe a little crumbled sausage (although we're not big on sausage, so I'll probably go the cheese route). All in all, this was very good, and I suspect that when my hubby finally gets home from work this will be "My type of food!" for him. Will make again, and there are lots of ways to make this healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANAHERE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geezboyz
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made as is, except used half Italian sausage/half ground beef, and 2% milk instead of half-and-half. I used Classico brand Sweet Basil jar spaghetti sauce. Buono! The textures were so good: al dente pasta, firm manicotti filling, moist, non-runny sauce. For presentation, I ladled the white sauce to cover the entire length of each shell, letting it run down the sides. I then spooned the red sauce just on top along the length of each shell, so that the white sauce could be seen. After uncovering, I sprinkled Parmesan on top of the red sauce. (See the picture for how pretty it looked.) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
An Absolutely Amazing Dish! I decided to use 1/2 Ground Italian Sausage and 1/2 Ground Beef and I'm so glad I did. The sausage adds so much flavor to this dish. Other then the sausage, I followed this recipe pretty much as written, even though I admit several times I was tempted to make big changes. I totally trusted another reviewer who said, "Just do it, you won't be sorry" and WOW was this ever amazing and delicious!! The white sauce was SO good! I used 2 PACKETS (not cubes) Herb-ox Instant Broth & Seasoning Chicken Bouillon (I didn't measure out 2 TBS), and it was so tasty and not salty at all. Don't skip the white sauce, it really makes this dish! For the spaghetti sauce I just used homemade sauce. It's a chunky sauce with a hint of sweetness and full of spices and lots of flavor so I didn't need to add the extra basil to the sauce. I did sprinkle a tiny bit of basil over the top of the parmesan at the end just for appearance. Thank you so much for this keeper recipe. I sure wish I would have made 2 batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was good, but very labor-intensive. I normally don't spend this much time making dinner, and I'm not sure the result of my efforts warrant making this again. It was good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is only my second review of a recipe on allrecipes (the other was for a peach cobbler). I have made this recipe twice now, with only minor tweaking to the ingredients and "production" method. The first time I used store bought manicotti shells and it was very, very good, 5 stars. The second time I made this (for a dinner party) I used the manicotti shells recipe found on this site and it was beyond very, very good. If there was a way to give it 10 stars, I would. (When I asked my 17-year-old pastaholic son how he liked it, he asked me to repeat my question because he "couldn't hear me over the angels singing" and begged me not to send our company home with any (I made two very large pans, most of which disappeared at dinner). It is an amaaazzzing recipe, made even better with the homemade manicotti shells. Yes, a lot of work (made it the day before and put in fridge to bake night of party), but you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Best White Sauce EVER!!! Very tasty! Might add 1/2 ground italian sausage and 1/2 hamburger next time. Great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this over the holidays while in Italy. I made my own manicotti shells as well. I loved the two sauces but I varied the sauces a little by adding some other seasonings to them. I also let the red sauce cook all day. I prefer to make my own red sauce, as a Sicilian/Italian I just can't bring myself to use store bought red sauce :) I also cut up some spicy Italian sausage and added it to the cheese mixture for one. I made two types, one with sausage and one without. The one with sausage was gone first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States