Manicotti Alla Romana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This wasn't great for me. Maybe I did not use a good enough sauce? I think if I were to make it again, I would make a homemade sauce. It was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made it for my family for the first time and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krysten K.
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
It was great!!! I am not a cook but this turned out great! I might venture away from the hamburger helper more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I think I will make this again. I split this into 2 casserole dishes and froze one. I didn't add the cream sauce to the frozen casserole until I had it thawed and ready to make. It's pretty easy to half that and I think it wouldn't freeze well. One kid loved it, one wouldn't touch it because of the "green stuff". Nice change from the regular lasagna, and I liked that it had plenty of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Super time consuming but delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was a hit! I read a lot of the reviews and decided to tweak it to our taste. Used fresh Hot Italian sausage with a bit of hamburger in it. Saved some of the meat mixture to put in the red sauce (my BF is a carnivore). Used a little less garlic (we love garlic, however, this seemed a little excessive). Put fresh grated parmigiano reggiano in the ricotta blend. Made a homemade alfredo sauce in exchange of the white sauce in this recipe. Then topped with fresh mozzarella. It was a labor of love and we enjoyed every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mexico, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Always a hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Always a favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Excellent, and easy to make ahead. I made mine early in the day and just allowed about 2 hours in a 350 oven for it to reheat, I liked it with the ground meat. I tried using the ziplock bag to stuff the manicotti, but I had used fresh spinach and I think they just weren't soft enough enough to easy go thru the bag, I ended up just stuffing them with clean hands. I couldn't afford the extra calories, so I made it without the white sauce. I do realize that this changes the recipe taste, but I just wanted to share that the recipe is excellent with just the red spaghetti sauce -- I thinned it a little since the half cooked manicotti will soak up some of the liquid. We're only a family of three, so I had enough leftover for a couple of lunches. Just froze for another day. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I really hesitated to use the white sauce in this but it was really a good meal. 4 stars because it lacked spices. I used Italian sausage and added red pepper flakes and black pepper. Also browned the meat with the onions and added the garlic at the end. The olive oil is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States