Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made this and it was excellent, but several changes were made I used 39 oz of minced clams, and only 3 small potatoes, 1 can of crushed tomatoes, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, and a pinch of dried jalapeno peppers. It was still a little tomatoey but had a wonderful taste. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe was great after I made some edits. I used twice as much clams, using defrosted frozen baby clam meat. I replaced the crushed tomato with tomato sauce and the diced tomato with stewed, and threw in more celery and used no potatoes (since I dislike them). I also had no onion powder so I just chopped up two green onions, and replaced the herbs with the same amount of Italian seasoning. I feel like I should have added a little bit of garlic as well. But this is truly a delicious low-fat, high-protein recipe with lots of omega-3s and veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
As written, I give this four stars. I felt it needed more seasonings so I ended up adding a bay leaf, thyme, and minced garlic. I added the clams at the very end and only heated them through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband is a HUGE fan of Manhattan Clam Chowder, this made his day! This recipe is much better than Emeril's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I just didn't care for this soup. I halved the recipe and used less tomato as suggested. I also like spices so I added thyme and garlic. I don't think extra clams could have saved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I added more ingredients like onion, parsley, thyme, italian seasoning, canned corn and peas but I still found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
MARIA I AGREE WITH YOU TOO MUCH TOMATO AND NOT ENOUGH CLAMS . FROM WILKES-BARRE PA. STILL I ENJOYED THE SOUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
As a base recipe, this was good. However, I added more clams, and it was way too tomatoey. I'm not sure this is the best recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a 52 oz can of clams, added a can of fish stock and a can of chicken stock plus about 4 stalks of celery and a diced onion. I also added tyme which was suggested by another reviewer and used fiery roasted diced tomatoes. It tasted great! I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriss925

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was fabulous, made it for New Years Eve. I used more clams, and put in thyme as suggested below. I had some shrimp and scallops that I needed to use so threw those in too. Guess I really had Manhattan Seafood Chowder. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States