Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I followed Soupman's advice as well, but substituted one of the 29 ounce cans of diced tomoatoes for 1 box of organic chicken broth. I also added at least 3 tbs. of old bay seasoning and used about 72 oz of clams (my family doesn't think there is ever too many clams). This is a 5 star recipe that I have used over and over again to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Threw everything in my crockpot in the morning and came home to the most amazing soup! Used the recipe as stated with the additions suggested by Soupman. Excellant & easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I personally haven't tried it yet but gave some to a big ole truck driver from work who said it was awesome...very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
The reason I give this a four is that I made alot of changes. I didn't add peppers, carrots, worchester or hot sauce. Made the stock from the juice or freshly steamed quahogs. I added 2 bay leaves and 2 large onions. The crushed tomatoes definitely make this chowder very tasty. I also added a large can of tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I will add more potatoes next time but this was delicious and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was okay at best. I would've preferred something thicker / with more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I added some of the ingredients from others, but I agree with one of the previous reviews - it was missing something, but not sure what!! It was definitely good, and will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I found this recipe because someone gave me one of those huge Costco cans of chopped clams and I didn't feel in the mood for New England chowder. I'm glad I did. Thanks Halie, and thanks Soupman for the additional ingredient suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socalhabaneros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
awesome. i followed soupmans directions and it came out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Mmmmm....I 'fixed' it up a bit according to previous reviews. Additions included; more clams, clam juice, way more celery, chopped onion, more hot sauce and fresh thyme. I really liked the fact it made a large amount, great for the freezer and leftovers! I really like the creamy white clam chowder as well, but I thought this one was better and healthier. Will make again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States