Manhattan Style Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wish I had read the other reviews (like I normally do) before making this soup. When made just by following the recipe, it tastes like a vegetable soup in a tomato broth with a hint of clam. It also makes ALOT of soup. I had to transfer it from my regular pot that I usually make spaghetti in, to a crab pot so I could add the veggies. I use allrecpies.com basically as a cookbook but this recipe was not a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recipe, but I tweaked it a little and it was scrumptious ?? I added the white wine, extra can of clams, no bacon, extra carrots, potatoes, Italian stew tomatoes, and crushed tomatoes, no dice tomatoes. My husband had three bowls of soup and I had two bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe for Manhattan clam chowder (red) over the New England clam chowder (white)! I threw in a bunch of frozen veggies I had in the freezer, and because I am from the East Coast, I added in a few teaspoons of Old Bay. I served it with some French bread crusty rolls to sop up the soup…oh my it was Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
A good base to start with. Used all fresh ingredients. Started with a small pack of bacon, leaving the grease in for extra flavor. Used Italian stewed tomatoes. Extra clams and juice.1 can of clamato juice.3times the herbs and spices. Added 2 extra stocks of celery. Half an onion.fresh garlic.sea salt and fresh ground pepper. 4 large potatoes,cubed.and sliced carrots. Then simmered for 3 hours. Oh... I added a about a tablespoon of fresh parsley about half way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
So YUM! This is my first attempt at Clam Chowder-Oh my Heck! Will be making this again! Thank You for the hints SoupMan it came out perfectly. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Delicious. Added my fresh tomatoes from garden instead of diced tomatoes. Added thyme, bacon, extra celery as per Soupman. Bacon is key! Whole family (3 fussy kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
With more tweaking this could be a good recipe. I checked out what others had done and made some changes, but the end product reminded me too much of spaghetti sauce. I would thin it down quite a bit and cut down on the tomatoes. Adding some turkey bacon helped for the lack of clams (add more!) but this just didn't rock my world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe but it needed some modification. We used a 5 lb bag of fresh clams from Costco, and added 2 bottles of clam juice and 2 small cans of clams with their juices. We omitted the green and red peppers since they are too strong. We used 1 large chopped onion and 6 pieces of chopped smoked bacon. We did not have celery on hand so we used 1/2 tsp celery salt. (A second time we made this, we doubled the chopped celery as others have done). We sauteed the bacon, then added the onions, carrots and celery and sauteed these together before adding the canned tomatoes and spices. Then we added the clams. We added one cup of white wine, and used white pepper instead of black, which tends to be better with seafood chowders. We removed some of the shells and then added the potatoes to cook for an extra 20 minutes til they were tender. This avoided them from getting mushy. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Made a few changes to the recipe and LOVED it... Used a 51 oz can of chopped clams 3 - 28 oz cans of Italian seasoned chopped tomatoes added the following ingredients: 3 large garlic cloves 1/2 - large sweet onion, diced 2 Tbsp Franks Hot sauce 1/2 Tbsp fresh thyme Used 2 red peppers instead of one green and one red. Added an extra potatoes. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Draper Francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
First, DO NOT ADD 1 T and 1/2 T of dried THYME, as mentioned by another review. The amount of thyme was way too much. I reduced the thyme to 1/2 T dried and followed the other suggestions of double the clams and celery as well as using stewed tomatoes with peppers, garlic and onions. This recipe was so good and low in calories/fat/carbs/ etc. that we will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States