Manhattan Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Very easy, and a big hit at the party. Browned the meatballs in a skillet, then dumped them and the sauce in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Made these for New Years Eve gathering. Used frozen pre-cooked "homestyle" meatballs and a 2-1 ratio combo of KC Masterpiece and Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Sauce plus the preserves (Apricot-Pineapple was all I could find) specified in the recipe. Was very much complimented by all so will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
These were good,but on the second batch,I decided to throw in a generous amount of garlic salt and worcestershire sauce.What a difference it made! I also didn't have pineapple preserves,so I substituted diced pineapples.Tasty,but I am still looking for an amazing recipe for cocktail meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Other than using seasoned bread crumbs, I used the recipe as-is. I would, however not suggest cooking the meatballs with the sauce as my was on the verge burning after 20 minutes. I removed the meatballs from the oven and what sauce I could salvage and put them into the slow cooker. Next time I will cook the meatballs and warm the sauce on the stove top where I can control the temperature better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These were a huge hit at my birthday gathering! Not one of the quadrupled recipe was left. I followed almost as directed but pineapple preserves are expensive in my parts. So I added just a small amount of brown sugar & about a tsp. of pineapple juice to make up for some more sweet. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Muri, Bern, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I've never been much of a fan of sweet & sour meatballs but wow, these are delicious. Instead of the pineapple preserves I mixed KC Masterpiece with a bottle of sweet & sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I found this recipe about 2 years ago and have made them many times since. I get a lot of requests for these! I use my own meatloaf recipe and bake the meatballs in the oven then put the sauce over them in the slow cooker. I have never found pineapple preserves but usually use the pineapple topping meant for ice cream topping. Last time I used apricot-pineapple preserves and that seemed especially good. Thanks for the recipe Lois!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
These were pretty yummy. I made them and cooked them in the oven for 25 minutes on cookie sheets. Then I added them to a slow cooker with the preserves and bbq sauce on low for 2 hours. They turned out great. Next time I might add about 3/4ths of a cup of water so the sauce isn't so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Fabulous! I think this would work better in a slow cooker but otherwise, the glaze itself is addictive. I used pineapple preserves and Baby Ray's. It's my nature to tweak recipes but I left this one alone except for the cooking method and we loved it. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2001
The best I ever made. Made them for my husband's Christmas last year. Went over very well. I have been just yesterday to make them for a wedding on the 12 of May.EXCELLENT recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States