Manhattan Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
this dish is amazing! i've made it more times then i can count & it's always delicious & a big hit. the only difference i make is that instead of pineapple preserves, i use crushed pineapple from a can. same taste, but juicer! it's super easy to cut in half too. amazing dish! would recommend to anyone (: thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Fabulous! I think this would work better in a slow cooker but otherwise, the glaze itself is addictive. I used pineapple preserves and Baby Ray's. It's my nature to tweak recipes but I left this one alone except for the cooking method and we loved it. Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I made these for an appetizer party, they were great! I did make some changes though. I used 3/4 cup grape jelly instead of preserves, added 1/2 cup more bbq sauce, and used ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These are great. I added red pepper flakes to the bbq sauce mixture and used the pineapple apricot preserves. I make a bunch and freeze the meatballs without the sauce and just make a little of the sauce at a time. They always go first at a party and people rave about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Other than using seasoned bread crumbs, I used the recipe as-is. I would, however not suggest cooking the meatballs with the sauce as my was on the verge burning after 20 minutes. I removed the meatballs from the oven and what sauce I could salvage and put them into the slow cooker. Next time I will cook the meatballs and warm the sauce on the stove top where I can control the temperature better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I found this recipe about 2 years ago and have made them many times since. I get a lot of requests for these! I use my own meatloaf recipe and bake the meatballs in the oven then put the sauce over them in the slow cooker. I have never found pineapple preserves but usually use the pineapple topping meant for ice cream topping. Last time I used apricot-pineapple preserves and that seemed especially good. Thanks for the recipe Lois!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Came out perfect. Took no time at all. Made them at a party and got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
They came out like hard little sweet balls of tuff meat. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I couldn't find the pineapple preserves and used orange marmalade instead. They turned out very well and had a unique, sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I did not like the texture of preserves in this. I wish I had used canned pineapple instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States