Manhattan Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We loved this so much I made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Frye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Very tasty recipe. It was quite easy to prepare, and goes very well with toasted bread. I couldn't wait to reheat left overs the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I generally prefer Boston clam chowder but since I didn't have many of the ingredients I opted for this one and BOY, am I glad I did! I followed previous reviewer with the bacon idea but about half the paprika. Also since the only suitable bread I had was a couple days past its best, I turned it into croutons, frying in the same bacon grease. I only had canned clams and yellow rather than green pepper and only a little green onions so I added regular onions. This was a HUGE HIT with my husband. He raved and raved about it. Thanks a million for the ideas and input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I used a bag of mixed seafood in addition to the clams. Put in 2 stalks sliced celery and 2 sliced carrots in place of the bell pepper. Also used fresh chopped parsley and 2 tablespoons of " Old Bay" seasoning to spice it up a bit.This recipe was so easy to make and came out great. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
The delicious and easy way of making Manhattan clam chowder. This is very tasty! I usually end up using freshly shucked clams, and adding in a half bottle of clam juice. The end result has turned out great every time. Thanks for sharing, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe, but I modified it slightly because I thought it was too bland at first (I tasted it after it came to a boil). I cooked 4 slices of bacon (as per another reviewer suggestion), and then I sauteed the onion, green pepper, and a bit of garlic in the grease. I did everything else according to the recipe, only I added a bit of Worcestershire (maybe 2 tsp.), about 1/4 cup sherry, garlic powder, onion powder, and chili powder (all to taste). My husband and I couldn't get enough. I still gave the recipe a 5 because it really is so simple, and the base is still good but easily modified to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made this recipe to feed a few friends when I was married. Several months after we were divorced, my ex-husb called me to ask me to make this, freeze it, pack it in dry ice and ship it overnight to him! I've tweaked to my taste over the last few years by adding more onions, using diced new potatoes, canned clams and extra hot sauce! It's one of my signature dishes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBROSIA1968

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin' Care!
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
My first attempt at making Clam Chowder. I think it could be a bit thicker. I basically doubled the entire recipe..used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatos, more potatos, and i took the advice of the chili pepper seasoning and the bacon. Serve with some oyster crackers or saltines. Really great way to use up the clams before they go bad and have lots to share with your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Care!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
***A TIP*** If you are lucky enough to have fresh clams or better yet Quahogs, for this recipe, try freezing the clams before using them. They will open once they are frozen. Just remember to thaw them over a container so you do not lose any of the juice...happy eating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States