Manhattan Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Was well liked by my husband. Didn't measure out clams. He's a clam lover so just added them. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Every time I go to visit my grandparents, my grandma and I cook together...this is one of our absolute favourites! SO good. To make this more economical but still keep up the flavour, we use canned clams (about 2-3 cans) but add extra Clamato juice and the bottled brine, in addition to 4 strips of fried bacon, carrots, and celery. The extra liquid does thin the soup out a bit, but if you mash up the vegetables a bit as they cook it turns into a lovely consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is a great base for a very good manhattan chowder. With the addition of other reviewers revisions it is great! I used three reviewers suggestions combined. Added celery, garlic, yellow onion, worscestershire, sherry, paprika and old bay seasoning. Also used clam juice instead of water. Also used the bacon suggestion sautéed all vegetables except tomatoes in bacon grease. Added great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Outstanding! I added the above listed items and it was amazing. I doubled the recipe, and also added about 8oz of crab and a pound of small shrimp. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I added a nice little twist to the suggestions made by Music_Minx. Instead of 2 tablespoons of Paprika, try 1/2 tablespoon of Smoked Paprika - it really goes well with the tomato base of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I guess I should not have tried this one. I'm not a fan of Manhattan clam chowder, but my spouse is. Made it for him. The spicy clam juice gave him instant heartburn, so I had to eat almost the whole thing! Flavor was good, okay for rainy day company, but only a bowl full for me. Should have frozen it, used it slowly. But smart I am not always! If you like Manhattan chowder, this is a nice recipe. I flame-roasted/peeled/chopped the red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
***A TIP*** If you are lucky enough to have fresh clams or better yet Quahogs, for this recipe, try freezing the clams before using them. They will open once they are frozen. Just remember to thaw them over a container so you do not lose any of the juice...happy eating!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiamagdalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We loved this so much I made it twice in one week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin' Care!
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
My first attempt at making Clam Chowder. I think it could be a bit thicker. I basically doubled the entire recipe..used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatos, more potatos, and i took the advice of the chili pepper seasoning and the bacon. Serve with some oyster crackers or saltines. Really great way to use up the clams before they go bad and have lots to share with your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Care!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States