Manhattan Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I've never made soup before, much less manhattan clam chowder. So I took some of the advice of the reviewers and added some things. If I hadn't added anything, it would've been extrememly bland. So here's what I did: I replaced the water with chicken broth, added another can of clams, added about 2.5 fl oz of Worchestire sauce ( I love the zest it gave it) some Old bay seasoning (About 2 tsp.) added celery, and 3 cloves of freshly minced garlic. It was to die for, and I didn't even have leftovers! You may want to add more or less seasoning and worchestire sauce over the cooking period. I let it cook for about 45 mins and didn't have to mash the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Yummy. I made some changes and ended up with wonderful. I added celery and some hot sauce per other reviewer's comments. I sauted the carrot, onion, & celery. I used chicken broth in place of the water and used unpeeled sliced red potatoes. Finally, I added 1 cup V8 low sodium juice and ommited the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
REALLY GREAT RECIPE AND EASY TO PUT TOGETHER. THE ONLY THING THAT I CHANGED WAS TO ADD MORE CLAMS AND AN EXTRA CAN OF DICED TOMATOES. SERVED IT AT DINNER PARTY AND ALL THE GUESTS RAVED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This is one of the best clam chowders I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
the first soup i've ever made, and it was awesome (so was i). healthy too. this website has tons of wonderful healthy recipes. thanx to everyone for providing such diversity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was really BLAND when prepared as directed but was an ok starting point. Added worchestershire sauce, a couple of tablespoons of salsa (did not have any hot sauce), a bullion cube, a bit of tomato sauce,Old Bay Seasoning, garlic, basil, celery, and green pepper before I got the desired results. Think that 2 cans of tomatoes would be too much of a good thing and that the chowder should be simmered for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Great recipe. Tried it tonight and had to force myself to stop. I added a third can of clams and two cans of tomatoes. Also I had hot sauce available for those who wanted it. A small amount gave it just the right amount of "zing". Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
I've never had manhattan clam chowder before, but I thought this was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
this was very good but a little bland so i put in a little Old Bay seasoning and really helped a lot.my kids liked it a lot.I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
OMG! this was just great, I have made it twice so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States