Manhattan Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I really liked it, very similar to my nana Brenda's old recipe. Added some bacon to it as well because that's what she used to do, and I am a carnivore extraordinaire, and it turned out well, despite the fact I have simmered it for too long. A bay leaf is really good in there too; you only need one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I've never made soup before, much less manhattan clam chowder. So I took some of the advice of the reviewers and added some things. If I hadn't added anything, it would've been extrememly bland. So here's what I did: I replaced the water with chicken broth, added another can of clams, added about 2.5 fl oz of Worchestire sauce ( I love the zest it gave it) some Old bay seasoning (About 2 tsp.) added celery, and 3 cloves of freshly minced garlic. It was to die for, and I didn't even have leftovers! You may want to add more or less seasoning and worchestire sauce over the cooking period. I let it cook for about 45 mins and didn't have to mash the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
There are much better chowder recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Yummy. I made some changes and ended up with wonderful. I added celery and some hot sauce per other reviewer's comments. I sauted the carrot, onion, & celery. I used chicken broth in place of the water and used unpeeled sliced red potatoes. Finally, I added 1 cup V8 low sodium juice and ommited the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
The flavor was a little lacking, so I used a bit more thyme, a dash of cayenne and some oregano. I also used some celery. Next time I will add more clams. On the whole it was pretty good, and I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was really BLAND when prepared as directed but was an ok starting point. Added worchestershire sauce, a couple of tablespoons of salsa (did not have any hot sauce), a bullion cube, a bit of tomato sauce,Old Bay Seasoning, garlic, basil, celery, and green pepper before I got the desired results. Think that 2 cans of tomatoes would be too much of a good thing and that the chowder should be simmered for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was so easy to make - I never made clam chowder before - the only thing I did different was I added a can of whole clams (including the juice) too b/c I love clams. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
this was very good but a little bland so i put in a little Old Bay seasoning and really helped a lot.my kids liked it a lot.I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Pretty good. I used less thyme, added another can of minced clams, & substituted crushed tomatoes for the diced. I didn't bother mashing the vegetables & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
this was really good because i had this at school once and i made it together with two of my classes and they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States