Manhattan Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is so easy. You can't mess this up !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Not good! And to me, a recipe shouldn't have to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Recipe is a good starting point. I added a half can of beef stock, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, basil, one minced garlic clove, bay leaf, some corn, 1/4 sugar, and 2 stalks of chopped celery. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Very tasty! I added some Old Bay, and some extra veggies. But this was a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueostrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Make this for my Pop's birthday. Tasty broth. I did add a few thing based on other reviews. Added the following: 1 more can tomatoes & clams. Used wine instead of water. 1 Sazon seasoning packet. Don't forget hot sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made 1/2 of the recipe. I had extra clam juice in the fridge so I ended up with approx 1 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup water. I used a can of diced tomatoes that were seasoned with oregano, basil, and garlic. I think if you did not have the extra clam juice and seasonings the recipe would be really bland. This is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Outstanding recipe. I made the following changes: doubled the amount tomatoes including some original rotel (adds a little spice!) and doubled the potatoes. I also cooked some bacon, well done, and sprinkled bacon pieces over the top at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good, I added half a pound of bacon and doubled everything but the clams. Probably great with more clams. I also added a little aniseed. I'll definitely make this again. annie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
The recipe I have used for years is the same except adding 1 cup fine chopped celery and 2-3 slices fried bacon cut up. It really is the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was excellent. I made it with 3 cans of clams and it was really too many - 2 cans probably would have been fine. I also added 2 stalks celery chopped up, and 3 cloves crushed garlic. Next time I will probably also add a bay leaf or two, and possibly fill the clam stock to 3 cups with white wine instead of regular water. I simmerred with the lid off - this lead to thicker consitency than I think I would have gotten with the lid on. I think this would make an excellent base recipe for any chowder. Next time, I will try it with fresh calamari and large shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Grinstead, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States