Manhattan Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I really liked it, very similar to my nana Brenda's old recipe. Added some bacon to it as well because that's what she used to do, and I am a carnivore extraordinaire, and it turned out well, despite the fact I have simmered it for too long. A bay leaf is really good in there too; you only need one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I've never made soup before, much less manhattan clam chowder. So I took some of the advice of the reviewers and added some things. If I hadn't added anything, it would've been extrememly bland. So here's what I did: I replaced the water with chicken broth, added another can of clams, added about 2.5 fl oz of Worchestire sauce ( I love the zest it gave it) some Old bay seasoning (About 2 tsp.) added celery, and 3 cloves of freshly minced garlic. It was to die for, and I didn't even have leftovers! You may want to add more or less seasoning and worchestire sauce over the cooking period. I let it cook for about 45 mins and didn't have to mash the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
There are much better chowder recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Yummy. I made some changes and ended up with wonderful. I added celery and some hot sauce per other reviewer's comments. I sauted the carrot, onion, & celery. I used chicken broth in place of the water and used unpeeled sliced red potatoes. Finally, I added 1 cup V8 low sodium juice and ommited the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
The flavor was a little lacking, so I used a bit more thyme, a dash of cayenne and some oregano. I also used some celery. Next time I will add more clams. On the whole it was pretty good, and I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was really BLAND when prepared as directed but was an ok starting point. Added worchestershire sauce, a couple of tablespoons of salsa (did not have any hot sauce), a bullion cube, a bit of tomato sauce,Old Bay Seasoning, garlic, basil, celery, and green pepper before I got the desired results. Think that 2 cans of tomatoes would be too much of a good thing and that the chowder should be simmered for at least an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was so easy to make - I never made clam chowder before - the only thing I did different was I added a can of whole clams (including the juice) too b/c I love clams. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
this was very good but a little bland so i put in a little Old Bay seasoning and really helped a lot.my kids liked it a lot.I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Pretty good. I used less thyme, added another can of minced clams, & substituted crushed tomatoes for the diced. I didn't bother mashing the vegetables & it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
this was really good because i had this at school once and i made it together with two of my classes and they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States