Manhattan Clam Chowder II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is so easy. You can't mess this up !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Not good! And to me, a recipe shouldn't have to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Recipe is a good starting point. I added a half can of beef stock, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, basil, one minced garlic clove, bay leaf, some corn, 1/4 sugar, and 2 stalks of chopped celery. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Very tasty! I added some Old Bay, and some extra veggies. But this was a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueostrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Make this for my Pop's birthday. Tasty broth. I did add a few thing based on other reviews. Added the following: 1 more can tomatoes & clams. Used wine instead of water. 1 Sazon seasoning packet. Don't forget hot sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made 1/2 of the recipe. I had extra clam juice in the fridge so I ended up with approx 1 cup clam juice and 1/2 cup water. I used a can of diced tomatoes that were seasoned with oregano, basil, and garlic. I think if you did not have the extra clam juice and seasonings the recipe would be really bland. This is a very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Outstanding recipe. I made the following changes: doubled the amount tomatoes including some original rotel (adds a little spice!) and doubled the potatoes. I also cooked some bacon, well done, and sprinkled bacon pieces over the top at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very good, I added half a pound of bacon and doubled everything but the clams. Probably great with more clams. I also added a little aniseed. I'll definitely make this again. annie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
The recipe I have used for years is the same except adding 1 cup fine chopped celery and 2-3 slices fried bacon cut up. It really is the best I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was excellent. I made it with 3 cans of clams and it was really too many - 2 cans probably would have been fine. I also added 2 stalks celery chopped up, and 3 cloves crushed garlic. Next time I will probably also add a bay leaf or two, and possibly fill the clam stock to 3 cups with white wine instead of regular water. I simmerred with the lid off - this lead to thicker consitency than I think I would have gotten with the lid on. I think this would make an excellent base recipe for any chowder. Next time, I will try it with fresh calamari and large shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Grinstead, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States