Mango Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
If you don not have dried mango, this recipe is is also good with dried apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made these last night and I would give them an A for taste. However the bottom crust was to thin and crumbly and, after baking, the filling was way to soft. I think both, but especially the filling, need longer baking times. Also it was difficult to seperate the bars from the waxed paper, once again, maybe the result of not baking long enough. They taste good enough to give them another try but this time I'm going to bake 'em til they're crusty. Last, I would leave off the powdered sugar dusting - I think it takes away from the taste of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This took way longer than 20 minutes to cook. More like an hour. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this recipe, without the lemon extract (not avail in Mexico). I used 3 fresh(1 1/2 cups)"Manilla" mangos. Took 1 hour to bake but turned out great. Rich, buttery andl great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I had just enough left in a bag of dried mango and cherries to make this recipe, so I left the cherries in. This baked up into a flavorful bar cookie, but if you’re really looking for mango flavor, it's not here. Still very buttery, moist, fruity, and just pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I just happen to have all of the ingredients at home and wanted to use out some dried mango that I had so I thought this would be the perfect way. The bottom part was more like batter and didn't bake so well and the filling part is just ok. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I dont care for mangoes but this was addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Two Christmases ago my boss' daughter made these and I began to search recipes for it, alas, I found this and made a batch last night. My husband stuffed himself with several squares and saved some to take to work to boast with his co-workers! He's asking me to make some more! This is best recipe to make in the Philippines where we have tons of inexpensive dried mangoes there, and I like the way it doesn't give away the taste of mango, instead it tastes like a combination of different fruits and is chewy and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Couldn't find a dessert recipe using fresh mangos. I had two mangos that were starting to get overripe so I took a chance and used them in this recipe instead of the dried mango. The bars were actually quite good but not very mango-y like I was hoping. If I make this again I'll try a stronger-tasting fruit...strawberry, pineapple, kiwi? I liked the extra gooeyness from the fresh fruit even though it took longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irelandwhispers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Good recipe! It's a bit too sweet and doesn't really taste like mango, but it is yummy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States