Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This sorbet is so, so good. To make simple syrup, I boiled a cup of water and then stirred in a cup of sugar until the sugar was dissolved. To give it more fruit flavor, I added the lime zest from two limes to the water before I boiled it. Once the simple syrup was made, I added the lime juice from both limes. Once it cooled a bit, I put in in the fridge for a while. I ended up with more than a cup of simple syrup, so I just used a cup of it and am saving the rest to make the recipe again. Very yummy! It tastes very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I saw a comment on here about how to make ice cream without the ice cream maker and since I have the exact same problem, I found this on the internet: Make sure you have a bowl that’s quite wide to use for the churning/freezing process that comes next. Take your ice cream recipe mixture and carefully pour it into the bowl, then chill in the fridge for up to 2 hours, checking on it after 1 hour. The reason it can take longer than an hour is when a recipe mixture has had cooked ingredients added, therefore thorough chilling will take longer. Take the bowl out of the fridge and transfer to the freezer for about half an hour. Then check just how much the mixture has frozen - ideally, it should have started to freeze at the edges but not fully through to the centre. Take the bowl out of the freezer and beat the ice cream mixture until it’s creamy once again (to dislodge and break up the ice crystals that have formed). Put it back in the freezer for another half hour, then remove and once again beat with a whisk. Do this again so that you have beaten the mixture a total of 3 times whilst freezing in between. Put the mixture back into the freezer for a final time until it’s ready to eat. This can take anything from 30 minutes upwards, depending upon the quantity and type of ice cream you’re making and also how you like the consistency of your ice cream (some people like it softer, some harder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
What a yummy treat! I do have a few comments that may be helpful to others. I used 4 VERY ripe mangos which I thought may be a problem, but it actually helped! Thanks to the extreme ripeness, there was no need for peeling much - just cut it in half and pull out the "meat." I combined all of the ingredients in a blender for easier pouring. I have a 4-qt. ice cream maker, and this recipe filled less than one-fourth of its container. So, it actually required less time then the machine alotted for, so check yours every once and a while. Once the sorbet was done, it was almost like a "soft serve" consistency; which we all liked a lot, but if you like your pretty frozen and a bit harder, I suggest letting it freeze in the freezer for quite a while. Finally, I believe this recipe says that it can serve 12, well it definitely cannot. I only ended up with 4 servings, which is perfect for the 4 of us, but if you want more you will need to increase the ingredients. (I guess it is one mango per person :D ). Oh, and one more thing, I used bottled lime juice, not fresh and it was fine. Very tasty, you should definitely give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Mangoes and limes are a match made in heaven. I've been making a recipe like this for years. The texture of the sorbet is sublime! If you can find the jarred mangoes in light syrup (in the refrigerated section of the product dept, usually), you can even skip the simple syrup. I do usually add a bit of vanilla, too, but this sorbet is my absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Just delicious! Creamy and velvety smooth - no hint of graininess or iciness, with a beautiful and vibrant color. Delightful and easily identifiable mango flavor simply enhanced with the lime juice - wouldn't have known it was in there had I not made this myself. And because I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen mango chunks (and a half recipe) this was unbelievably fast! I pureed the frozen mango, then added the lime juice and syrup which I had chilled in the freezer and continued to puree until smooth. Because the mixture was pretty much frozen (and spoonable!) before it even hit the ice cream maker, I don't think I even churned it ten minutes before it was done and nearly ready to eat. As for the lime juice and simple syrup, I used the amounts called for in the recipe, scaled down to half the recipe, and found both to be perfect. Definitely a "make again" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This turned out perfect! It was the first recipe I made with my new ice cream maker. I viewed tons of recipes and choose this one because of the natural ingredients. I am cutting back on sugar so I made the simple sugar syrup with 3/4 Cup instead of 1 Cup and 1 Cup water. I used frozen Mango chunks because the store here was out of fresh. I thawed them and they pureed perfectly. I have a new favorite!!! This is so light and delicious. The lime really adds the perfect little kick to it. Not too much, but just a hint. Next time I am going to cut the sugar back to 1/2 Cup and shoot for using really ripe mangos for natural sweetness. Definately a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was SOOOO GOOD!! It took about 4 hours to freeze but once it was frozen it as gone. Didn't make any changes. Just be sure to use ripe to very ripe mangos so you get that sweet mango flavour. Will make again over any other recipe! #1 in my books
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Outstanding! I used two large mangoes, 3 Tbs symple syrup and 2 Tbsp honey. Juice of whole lime. Very easy to make. Excellent texture. Made just enough for a simple indulgence. Try it with a piece of dark chocolate candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This is an outstanding recipe. I used about 3/4c simple syrup rather than the full cup due to personal preference. Thank you, this is going to become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Easy and delicious! I can't wait to try it with Splenda to cut the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States