Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
A wonderful refreshing summer treat. I added a bit of citrus vodka to keep the sorbet texture after freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very good...doesn't need as much sugar when you are creating sugar water.. the fruit makes it very sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Use ripe mangoes and this recipe won't disappoint! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the smoothest sorbet I have ever had. I used canned mango drained off the syrup as I didn't have any fresh when I found this recipe.Everyone who has had a taste was impressed...Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This is really good sorbet. I added about a tsp of grated lime peel to the simple syrup while it cooked. I also added a little more (about 1/4 c.) sugar. Made this the 2nd time with 1 cup of strawberries. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Soooo yummy and so simple to make, even for those that do not have an ice cream maker. It is a pain to have to keep tabs on it every 30 minutes to whisk it between bouts of freezing, but in a couple hours - voila! mango sorbet! Thanks for the recipe! AND - my mango was seriously over-ripe and it was just the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I added kiwi instead of lime juice. That way, i still had the tartness of a lime and an extra fruit. ...It was GOOD!!! I tasted light and healthy. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi-Me
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I make the syrup by boiling 1-1/2 cups water with 8 tbsp sugar,letting it boil for about 15 mins to about 1 cup and leaving it in the fridge overnight. I use 700gm of mango puree and 4 tbsp of lime juice. The next time when I make this sorbet I'm gonna add 1 or 2 tbsp of lime juice, because after freezing, I can't really taste the lime. The texture of this sorbet is just right. Not too mushy or too hard. It is good. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Used a sauce maker to puree the mango in and added the lime juice and some zest. Also added a bit of grated ginger to the simple syrup while heating. Poured all of the ingredients in a ziplock freezer bag. (I don't own an ice cream maker yet.) Mixture is currently in the freezer. taking it out ever 15-30 minutes and squishing it around to break up the crystals. Got caught Sneaking a taste and so far wonderfully. I am sure it will be even better completly frozen. Trying the same with some peach puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Just delicious! Creamy and velvety smooth - no hint of graininess or iciness, with a beautiful and vibrant color. Delightful and easily identifiable mango flavor simply enhanced with the lime juice - wouldn't have known it was in there had I not made this myself. And because I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen mango chunks (and a half recipe) this was unbelievably fast! I pureed the frozen mango, then added the lime juice and syrup which I had chilled in the freezer and continued to puree until smooth. Because the mixture was pretty much frozen (and spoonable!) before it even hit the ice cream maker, I don't think I even churned it ten minutes before it was done and nearly ready to eat. As for the lime juice and simple syrup, I used the amounts called for in the recipe, scaled down to half the recipe, and found both to be perfect. Definitely a "make again" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States