Mango Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Excellent Sorbet!! Easy to put together with minimal effort, and very satisfying in flavor and overall taste. I would reccomend to others when choosing mangos to pick only the RIPEST mangos to get the most of the flavors. The skin should be more red than green, give when you squeeze it and have a mango scent. I peeled, diced the mangos, placed them in the fridge to get cold. I used the simple syrup recipe on this website as well, then chilled it. I cut the recipe in half since I am really the only one who will really eat mango sorbet. I used 1 1/2 T fresh lime juice. I chilled everything for at least couple of hours before making the sorbet. I really think having everything chilled before hand really helped in the freezing process. The puree took me a couple of minutes. I left a few small tiny chunks in there, personal preference. I had my sorbet done in 25 minutes in my cuisinart ice cream maker. I noticed the sorbet had some firmness but still soft to the touch with a spoon, perfect for me! I like my consistency no too firm and not too soft. Everything turned out perfectly. It was nicely chilled and I can see little bits of fresh mangos throughout the sorbet. I can taste the fresh mangos and smell its' fragrant aroma. I did not even notice the lime juice even thou I know it is in there. Great no-fail recipe and no adjustments needed. A keeper for me and will use again. I am saving the other half of the simple syrup for my next sorbet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious in our new Cuisinart ice cream maker ... tied for one of the top two recipes we have made in it. I need to double the recipe next time as it makes a very small amount (for 6 of us).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is really good. I only gave it four stars because I thought it was too sweet. I added strawberries to dilute the sweetness and it was a great combo! I also added a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is so delicious!!! It took only a couple of minutes to get the ingredients together and blend them! I used around 16 oz of frozen mango as another user suggested, then poured the HOT syrup on top of it, which made the temperature perfect for easy blending. Then I squeezed in the juice of one lime. The ingredients are so simple, I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Can we say PERFECT! This recipe is so simple and easy that I was inspired to try other flavors as well. Strawberry (from frozen), Peaches (have to VERY Ripe) Pineapple/Banana(Strain puree) Kiwi! Made so many flavors we wound up having a sorbet party for the neighborhood. Folks it just doesn't get any easier than this. For those with sugar issues you can use Splenda or Truvia just as easily as sugar. Having a Share Our Strength bake sale once a month this spring and summer and have decided to sell these as well in one pint containers. I expect this to be a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
very good and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
After reading all of the reviews, I think I can offer some help. To keep the lime flavor from being too prominant, use tiny Key limes (sometimes called Mexican limes) They lack the astringency of regualr Persian limes and should really be used in all recipes. You can also use the small, yellow Manilla mangoes, which are not stringy and fibrous like the common red/green mango. Either way, you should process the puree for a long time to reduce the fibers. The sorbet will be creamier if you add, as one reviewer suggested, a few T of cream. But all sorbets, gelatos and ice creams should rest overnight in the fridge before processing in the ice cream maker. This step gives them the silken quality that is lost if you don't let the texture meld. If you use the cream, it would be best to add the lime juice to the simple syrup and let it cook for a minute. This will prevent it from curdling the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this as a light dessert after a dinner party this weekend past and it was a hit! We have some left over still, though only because I put it in the back of the freezer and forgot about it. I will definitely make this sorbet again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCCook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
incredible. Especially with lime zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
great recipe. i had really sweet ripe mangoes so i only added 2/3rds of a cup of simple syrup. and since i already cut up my mangoes beforehand i eyeballed my diced mangoes to about 4.5 cups, came out perfectly. :) the lime is a perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States